Minutes of the WCTC District Board Public Hearing and Appointment Committee Meeting

Thursday, March 18, 2021

Present: Waukesha County Board Chair Paul Decker, Dodge County Board Chair Russell Kottke, Jefferson County Board Chair Steven Nass, Racine County Board Chair Thomas Roanhouse, WCTC Executive Assistant Jennifer Thomas, and WCTC Provost of Strategic Marketing, Innovations & Effectiveness Dr. Ann Krause-Hanson. Minutes Recorded by Mary Pedersen, Waukesha County Board Office.

Candidates Present: Brian Baumgartner (as Employee, via phone), Ryan Clark (as Employer), Raghuhunath Subramaniyam (as Employer), Thomas Scherer (as Employer), and Joe Garza (as School District Administrator, via phone).

Public Meeting

Call Public Meeting to Order

Decker called the public meeting to order at 1:11 p.m. in Room 130 of the Waukesha County Administration Center. There was no public comment.

Determine Open Meeting Compliance

Decker stated that today's meeting is in compliance with the open meetings law.

Establishment of Quorum

A quorum was in attendance.

Review Plan of Representation

Decker discussed the Plan of Representation.

Discussion of Names and Candidate Qualifications

Decker announced the names of the applicants, Brian Baumgartner (as Employee); Ryan Clark (as Employer); Raghuhunath Subramaniyam (as Employer); Thomas Scherer (as Employer); and Joe Garza (as School District Administrator), and noted that each board member received copies of their applications in advance.

Close Public Meeting

The public meeting was closed at 1:30 p.m.

Appointment Committee Meeting

Call Appointment Committee Meeting to Order

Decker called the appointment committee meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

Determine Open Meeting Compliance

Decker stated that today's meeting is in compliance with the open meetings law.

Page 2 of 3

Establishment of Quorum

A quorum was in attendance.

Approve Minutes of Last Meeting

MOTION: Nass moved, second by Kottke to approve the minutes of May 14, 2020. Motion carried 4-0.

Purpose of Meeting and Explanation of Statutes Governing District Board Appointments

Decker explained the purpose of this meeting is to fill three vacancies: 1 Employee, three-year term expiring June 30, 2024; 1 Employer, three-year term expiring June 30, 2024; and 1 School District Administrator, three-year term expiring June 30, 2024.

Action on Plan of Representation

MOTION: Nass moved, second by Kottke to adopt the Plan of Representation. Motion carried 4-0.

Convene Public Hearing

Decker convened the public hearing at 1:31 p.m.

Interview Each Candidate

Decker invited each candidate to participate in a roundtable discussion consisting of a series of questions asked by Decker, Kottke, Nass, and Roanhouse.

Receive Public Testimony on Candidates

None.

Close Public Hearing and Reconvene Appointment Committee Meeting

Decker declared the public hearing closed and reconvened the appointment committee meeting at 3:30 p.m.

Roll Call Vote for Brian Baumgartner

MOTION: Kottke moved, second by Nass to appoint Baumgartner as an Employee Member of the WCTC Board.

Additional Member Roll Call Vote

Decker AYE Kottke AYE Nass AYE Roanhouse AYE

Motion carried 4-0.

Announce Appointment of District Board Member

The following appointment was made: Brian Baumgartner

Category Employee <u>Name</u> Brian Baumgartner <u>Term</u>

3-year term expiring June 30, 2024

Page **3** of **3**

Roll Call Vote for Joe Garza

MOTION: Kottke moved, second by Nass to appoint Joe Garza as a School District Administrator Member of the WCTC Board.

Additional Member Roll Call Vote

Decker	AYE
Kottke	AYE
Nass	AYE
Roanhouse	AYE

Motion carried 4-0.

Announce Appointment of District Board Member

The following appointment was made: Joe Garza

Category	<u>Name</u>	<u>Term</u>
School District Admin.	Joe Garza	3-year term expiring June 30, 2024

Roll Call Vote for Ryan Clark

MOTION: Kottke moved, second by Nass to appoint Ryan Clark as an Employer Member of the WCTC Board.

Additional Member Roll Call Vote

Decker	AYE
Kottke	AYE
Nass	AYE
Roanhouse	AYE

Motion carried 4-0.

Announce Appointment of District Board Member

The following appointment was made: Ryan Clark

Category Employer <u>Name</u> Ryan Clark Term 3-year term expiring June 30, 2024

Adjournment of Appointment Committee Meeting

MOTION: Nass moved, second by Roanhouse to adjourn the meeting at 3:42 p.m. Motion carried 4-0.