Waukesha County

RECORDS DIVISION

The Records Division is responsible for the maintenance and storage of all records generated by the Patrol Division and Detective Bureau. These records include but are not limited to incident reports, accident reports, citations and internal documents.

Open Records Requests

  • Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. except legal holidays
  • Requests are accepted in-person or by phone, mail or fax
  • Cost per page copied: $0.25
  • Cost for CD/DVD: $10

Complete the following steps to receive un-redacted/partially redacted copies from the Waukesha County Sheriff's Department:

  1. Complete the Permissible Uses Form certifying your eligibility for all permissible uses
  2. Submit the completed form to the Waukesha County Sheriff's Department
  3. Provide photo identification
  • You must appear in-person and provide photo identification to have records mailed to you. If you mail, fax or make the request over the phone, you just appear in person and present photo identification to pick up the records. If you specify another person to pick up the records on your behalf, that individual will be required to provide photo identification before receiving the records.

     4. Pay the cost

Forward Requests To:

Waukesha County Sheriff's Department
Attention Records Division
PO Box 1488
Waukesha, WI 53187-1488

Phone: 262-548-7156
Fax: 262-548-7887

Important Disclaimers
Requests will be fulfilled as soon as practicable and without delay based on the order in which they were received. Under Wisconsin law, a request for access to a public record may not be refused because the person making the request is unwilling to be identified. However, if the request involves restricted record access, we will contact you to obtain proof that you are someone statutorily authorized to obtain the requested record.

Please be aware that copies of accident reports or other records from the Waukesha County Sheriff's Department may contain redacted information in order to comply with the federal Driver's License Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) and State of Wisconsin public records laws.