= WAUKESHA

COUNTY,
- : - / LEADING THE WAY
Eviction Checklist w
CHECKLIST
Task Statutory Reference
0 Determine what type of notice is necessary to initiate Wis. Stat. §§ 704.17,
eviction process (e.g., 5-day, 14-day, 28-day notice). 704.19.
0 Properly serve the notice (personal service, substituted Wis. Stat. § 704.21.

service, post & mail service, certified mail service).

Complete the Affidavit of Service of Notice
O Terminating Tenancy, or retain a copy of the certified Wis. Stat. § 799.40(1g).
mail receipt.

Draft and file the Summons and Complaint for
Evictions*, and file either the Affidavit of Service of
Notice Terminating Tenancy or the certified mail
O receipt. Wis. Stat. § 799.41.
*If you are also requesting money damages, you must also state
that claim on this form. Check all boxes that apply. (You can mark

more than one box). If you do not know the exact amount yet, state
that the damages amount is to be determined.

0 Have the Summons and Complaint properly served Wis. Stat. §§ 799.16,
upon the tenant and file the Affidavit of Service. 79912,

O Draft and file a Declaration of Non-Military Service. Wis. Stat. § 321.62.

O Appear in person on the return date for the eviction. Wis. Stat. § 799.206.
If the action proceeds to the cause of action for

0 monetary damages, file and serve upon opposing party =~ Wis. Stat. §§ 799.01,
an Affidavit of Damages, along with supporting 799.209.
documents no later than 30 days after the eviction.

0 Appear in person for return date on monetary damages Wis. Stat. 799.209, 799.21.

and appear in person for trial on monetary damages.
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Pre-Judgment:
Basic Steps for Handling Small Claims
for EVICTION ACTIONS

This guide is provided by the Wisconsin court system to give you general information about
Wisconsin small claims eviction actions. Resources available in each county may be found at the
link below:

https://www.wicourts.gov/services/public/selfhelp/docs/countylegalresources.pdf

For additional information, please see the Pre-Judgment and Post-Judgment Basic Steps
Documents. These basic steps documents and any forms mentioned in this basic guide may be
obtained from the clerk of court or online at:

https://www.wicourts.gov/forms1/circuit.htm.

In addition to the guidance in this handbook, follow local court rules or procedures:
Wisconsin Circuit Court Rules

NOTICE: Small Claims laws change often. The small claims forms are intended to be useful in
many cases, but you may have to add or attach additional information as it applies to your case.
Talk to a lawyer if you are unsure whether these forms are the most appropriate for your
situation.

COURT STAFF CANNOT GIVE LEGAL ADVICE.

Before filing an eviction action, you must serve proper notice terminating tenancy according to
Chapter 704 of the Wisconsin Statutes. Some counties require proof of this notice before an
eviction will be granted. You must also determine if the eviction action is due to a foreclosure
action per §799.41(2), Wis. Stats.

[ ]1. Decide in which county you will file your case. This will usually be the county where
the subject property is located. You should review local court rules to make sure you are
following the proper procedure.

[]2. Fill outa Small Claims Summons and Complaint form. Complete the general
Summons and Complaint, (SC-500) form or Summons and Complaint (with Instructions),
(SC-5001) form which has step-by-step instructions on the left side.

[]3. Determine if the eviction is to remove a tenant whose tenancy is terminated as a
result of a foreclosure judgment and sale. Use the check boxes on the Summons and
Complaint, (SC-500) form to provide this information.

[]4. Once you have filled out the form, you should make at least two (2) copies for each
tenant you are suing and a copy for yourself.

[]5. Filethe Summons and Complaint. The Summons and Complaint must be filed and the
copies file stamped, and a filing fee paid to the clerk of court in the county where you are
filing your case.
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[]6. Have each tenant you are suing served with a copy of the Summons and Complaint.
For the court to hear the case, each tenant must be provided with a copy of the Summons
and Complaint far enough in advance of the first court date. A sheriff or private process
server must attempt to personally serve all tenants. If personal service cannot be
accomplished, the sheriff or process server should attempt to make substitute service. The
plaintiff, sheriff or process server may post a copy if the Summons and Complaint on the
property where it may be conveniently read and mail copies of the Summons and
Complaint to the tenants per §799.16, Wis. Stats. See Pre-Judgment: Basic Steps to
Small Claims Service, (SC-6050V) form for additional information.

[]7. Complete a Declaration of Nonmilitary Service, (GF-175) form for each tenant you
are suing.

[ 18. File your proof(s) of service and Declaration(s) of Nonmilitary Service with the Clerk
of Court. File the Declaration(s) of Nonmilitary Service and the proof(s) of service you
received from the sheriff or private process server. File these documents with the clerk of
court at or before the first court date according to local court rules. If you (as opposed to
the sheriff or process server) posted and provided copies to the defendant by mail, you
must also complete and file an Affidavit of Service, (SC-5100V) form.

[]9. Attend the first court date. All parties are required to attend the first court date.
However, DEFENDANTS may be allowed to appear in writing or by telephone if a local
court rule grants that privilege. Follow the local court rules where your case is filed or your
case may be dismissed. https://www.wisbar.org/Directories/CourtRules/Pages/Circuit-
Court-Rules.aspx. If the court grants you an eviction judgment, skip to number 12 below
and file the necessary paperwork.

[] 10. If your case cannot be settled at the first court date, the court will schedule a trial.
Before the trial, you may contact the tenant to try to settle your case. Some counties
require the parties attend mediation. If you reach an agreement, put your agreement in
writing and file it with the clerk of court before the trial. You may use the Stipulation for
Dismissal (Eviction), (SC-5300VA) form and Order for Dismissal (Eviction), (SC-5300VB)
form to do this. If you have not reached an agreement before the trial, organize your
paperwork and evidence in support of your claim and make enough copies for the court
and all parties. If you have witnesses, arrange for them to attend. Practice what you are
going to say. Make sure to follow local court rules for filing documents or statements
before the trial.

[ ] 11. Attend the trial. Be on time and be polite. Don’t get emotional. Explain why the court
should give you what you are asking for. The court will review your evidence and listen to
your witnesses, if any. When the court makes its decision, listen carefully. See the
instructional packet, Basic Guide to Wisconsin Small Claims Actions, (SC-6000V) form for
additional information about preparing and attending trial.

[] 12. Complete any post-eviction judgment. If you are granted an eviction judgment and the
tenants do not move out, you must have the sheriff help you remove the tenants. In order
to do so, you must pay a fee to obtain a signed Writ of Restitution, (SC-512) form from the
clerk of court. Take the writ to the sheriff within 30 days of being issued by the court. You
will be required to pay a service fee to the sheriff. You may also be required to provide a
bond to the sheriff. Contact the local sheriff's department for additional information. You
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may be required to obtain a sheriff's indemnity bond from your insurance company before
the sheriff will serve the execution. Contact the appropriate sheriff for further instruction.
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This form is also available in Spanish.
(Este formulario estd disponible en espariol.)

Enter the name of the
county in which you are
filing this case.

STATE OF WISCONSIN, CIRCUIT COURT,
COUNTY

The plaintiff is the person
bringing the law suit.

Enter the Plaintiff’s name
and address. If two
plaintiffs are living at the
same address, then the
names and addresses may
be listed together.

For more plaintiffs, check
the “additional plaintiffs”
box and attach another
sheet with their names and
addresses.

If this is an Amended
Complaint, check the box.

Enter the case number
given you by the Clerk.

The defendant is the
person or business you are
suing. Enter the name(s)
and address(es) of the
defendant(s).

For more than two
defendants, check the
“additional defendants”
box and attach another
sheet with their names and
addresses.

On the far right: Check
one of the boxes to show
what type of small claims
case you are filing.

Note: The clerk will
provide the phone number
for the disability box.

Plaintiff:

First name Middle name Last name

Address

Address

City State Zip
[] See attached for additional plaintiffs.
-VS-

To: Defendant(s):

First name Middle name Last name
Address
Address
City State Zip

[[] see attached for additional defendants.

(] Amended

Summons and Complaint
(Small Claims)

Case No.

[J Claim for money ($10,000 or less) 31001
[ Tort/Personal injury ($5,000 or less) 31010

(] Return of property (replevin) 31003
[ Eviction 31004
[ Eviction due to foreclosure 31002
[ Arbitration award 31006
[J Return of earnest money 31008

If you require reasonable accommodations
due to a disability to participate in the court
process, please call
prior to the scheduled court date. Please note
that the court does not provide transportation.

(] One or both parties require the services of an interpreter. Which party?
Complete and file the Interpreter Request (GF-149) form.

Which language?

Do not check either of
these boxes.

The clerk will check one
or both and circle “AND”
or “OR” according to local
court procedure.

The clerk will circle what
you need to do and will
provide the date, time, and
place to appear and/or
answer.

SUMMONS

To the Defendant(s):

When to Appear/File an Answer

You are being sued as described on the attached
complaint. If you wish to dispute this matter:

Date Time

] You must appear at the time and place stated.

Place to Appear/File an Answer

AND / OR (circle one, if applicable)

[] You must file a written answer and provide a
copy to the plaintiff or plaintiff's attorney on or
before the date and time stated.

If you do not appear or answer, the plaintiff may win this
case and a judgment entered for what the plaintiff is asking.

Note: Leave dates blank;
the clerk or plaintiff’s
attorney will enter them.

Clerk/Attorney Signature

Date Summons Issued Date Summons Mailed

SC-5001, 02/23 Summons and Complaint — Small Claims >
This form shall not be modified. It may be supplemented with additional material.
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Check the box for the type
of small claims case you
have filed.

See Basic Guide to
Wisconsin Small Claims
Actions (SC-6000V).

Briefly explain the facts
and why the court should
award you what you are
asking for.

For Eviction Actions: If
you are seeking money
damages, you must also
state that claim on this
form. If you do not know
the exact amount of money
damages yet, state that the
amount of money damages
cannot yet be determined.

If you need more room,
check this box and attach
additional sheets.

Check if you are the
plaintiff or the attorney.

COMPLAINT

Plaintiff's Demand:

The plaintiff states the following claim against the defendant(s):
1. Plaintiff demands judgment for: (Check as appropriate)

Claim for Money $

Tort/Personal injury $

Eviction
Eviction due to foreclosure
Return of Earnest Money

o000 oog

Return of property (replevin) (Describe property in 2 below.)
(Not to include Wis. Stats. 425.205 actions to recover collateral.)

Confirmation, vacation, modification or correction of arbitration award.

Plus interest, costs, attorney fees, if any, and such other relief as the court deems proper.

2. Brief statement of dates and facts:

(If this is an eviction action and you are seeking money damages, you must also state that claim on this form.)

[] See attached for additional information.

defendant(s).

| am the [] plaintiff.
(] attorney for the plaintiff.

Provide copy of attachments for court and

Enter your or your
attorney’s name and date.

Print or type your name.
Enter your or your
attorney’s phone number.

An attorney must enter his
or her State Bar Number,
law firm and address.

>

Plaintiff

Attorney's Signature

Name Printed or Typed

Attorney's Name Printed or Typed

Address

Attorney's Address

Email Address

Attorney's Email Address

Telephone Number

Telephone Number Date

State Bar No (if any)

COPIES: For each person you are suing, make two copies of this signed original and any attachments, and bring them to the clerk of court.

SC-5001, 02/23 Summons and Complaint — Small Claims
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STATE OF WISCONSIN CIRCUIT COURT WAUKESHA COUNTY

Plaintiff(s),

Vs.
CASE #

Defendant(s).

AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE OF NOTICE OF TERMINATION OF TENANCY

STATE OF WISCONSIN )
)ss
WAUKESHA COUNTY )

The undersigned, being first sworn on oath, deposes and says:

1. 1 am an adult resident of the State of Wisconsin and makes this affidavit upon personal

knowledge.
2. Iprovided the tenant(s), , with the following type of notice of termination of tenancy on
a. [_] 5-Day Notice c. [] 28-Day Notice
b. [] 14-Day Notice d. ] -Day Notice

3. The notice of termination of tenancy was served upon the tenant in the following manner:

a. [_] Personal Service: given to tenant personally on

b. [] Substituted Service: leaving a copy with any competent person apparently in charge
of the rented premises or occupying the premises or a part thereof, and by mailing a
copy by regular or other mail to the tenant's last-known address on

c. [ ] Post & Mail: Only permissible if reasonable diligence was exercised to serve the
tenant via personal service. Attempts to personally deliver made at the following dates
& times: (1) ,(2) , (3) . Mailed on

d. [ ] Certified Mail: please attach certified mail receipt.

Dated:

Landlord or Agent of Landlord

Subscribed and sworn to before me on
this day of , 20

Notary Public State of Wisconsin
My Commission expires




STATE OF WISCONSIN CIRCUIT COURT WAUKESHA COUNTY

Plaintiff(s),

VS.

Case No.

Defendant(s).

AFFIDAVIT OF DAMAGES

STATE OF WISCONSIN )

)ss

WAUKESHA COUNTY )

The undersigned, being first sworn on oath, deposes and says:

1

[ am an adult resident of the State of Wisconsin and make this affidavit upon personal
knowledge.

2. 1 am claiming lost rents in the amount of , which is comprised of month(s) of
rent at a rate of per month. Attached is a true and correct copy of the lease.

3. 1 am claiming late fees in the amount of , which is comprised on month(s) of
late fees at a rate of per month. Attached is a true and correct copy of the lease.

4. 1 am claiming double rent under Wis. Stat. § 704.27 in the amount of , which was
calculated as follows: daily rent in the month of was , and tenant held over for

day(s) in said month, for a total of . If tenant held over for multiple months,

please calculate as set forth above:

5. I am claiming the following cleaning and/or repair costs, and attached are true and correct
copies of the photographs, invoices, and proofs of payments:
[ ] See attached for additional information.

6. [ mailed a copy of this Affidavit of Damages via regular mail on to the tenant(s) last
known address, which is

Dated:

Landlord or Agent of Landlord

Subscribed and sworn to before me on
this day of , 20

Notary Public State of Wisconsin

My Commission expires




Filling out the Declaration of Nonmilitary Service

The Servicemembers Civil Relief Act is a federal law protecting military members as they enter
active duty. It helps servicemembers devote their energy to the nation’s defense by suspending
certain legal and financial proceedings. It may block the entry of default judgments in some cases.

Wisconsin Circuit Court Form GF-175, Declaration of Nonmilitary Service, is used when you want
the court to enter a default judgment in your favor if the defendant does not reply to your complaint
or does not appear in court. You will need to tell the court if the defendant is on active duty with any
branch of military service.

If you have personal knowledge relevant to the defendant’s military service:

You can fill out the declaration if you can truthfully provide the court with enough information to
conclude that the defendant is not on active duty in the military service. Here are some
examples of information that the court might be willing to consider in reaching its decision:

¢ | know the defendant personally and s/he has never given any indication that s/he is in
the military service.

e | called the defendant, who informed me on [date] that s/he is not in the military service.
e | see this person regularly and therefore believe she/he is not on active duty.

If you do not have personal knowledge about the defendant’s military service:

If you have the defendant’s social security number or birth date: The Department of
Defense has a website to help you find out whether the defendant is on active duty in the
military service. They have information for all branches of the United States military service and
for the Wisconsin Army and Air National Guard. The website is found at
https://www.dmdc.osd.mil/scra/owa/home.

You must provide last name, first name, and either social security number or birth date. If you
have the defendant’s social security number, the website will be able to confirm the defendant’s
military status. If you have only the birth date, the website might or might not be able to confirm.
If you don’t have either one, you will not be able to use the website.

If the defendant is in the military service, the website will provide the beginning date of active duty
status. If the defendant is not, it will provide a certificate saying that the defendant is not known to
be in the military service. You can print this certificate and submit it with your affidavit.

NOTE: The Department of Defense frequently changes its website procedures. If you have
trouble accessing the website, check the Department of Defense, Defense Manpower Data
Center, website at http://www.defenselink.mil/faa/pis/PCO9SLDR.html.

If you do not have the social security number: If you do not have the defendant’s social
security number or birth date, it may be very difficult for you to find out if the defendant is on
active military duty. If you have tried the Department of Defense website without success, you
may check the box on the GF-175 that indicates you are unable to verify the defendant’s military
status. Describe efforts made.

This information was updated on 03/20/2017.
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STATE OF WISCONSIN, CIRCUIT COURT, COUNTY

Plaintiff/

Petitioner: Declaration of Nonmilitary Service
-VS-

Defendant/ Case No.

Respondent:

I, the undersigned, declare that:
1. 1 am the [ plaintiff/petitioner or [] plaintiff's/petitioner's attorney in this case.

2. This declaration is made for the purpose of obtaining a default judgment against the above named
defendant/respondent.

] 3. |believe the defendant/respondent is not on active military duty at this time because:

(Choose one)
] I know the defendant/respondent personally and s/he has never given any indication that s/he is in
service with the United States military or National Guard.

(] I contacted the defendant/respondent, who informed me on [Date] that s/he is not on
active duty at this time.

] | see the defendant/respondent regularly and therefore believe s/he is not on active duty at this time.

(] Other personal knowledge:

(] 4. | obtained a certificate from the United States Department of Defense website showing that the defendant/
respondent [ ]is []is not on active duty status. This certificate is attached.

] 5. | have attempted to determine military status but do not have sufficient information. | have no reason to
believe s/he is on active duty at this time. Describe efforts made:

Verification: Under penalty of perjury, | state that the above declaration is true, except as those matters stated upon
information and belief, and as to those matters, | believe them to be true.

| am the: [] plaintiff/petitioner.
] attorney for the plaintiff/petitioner.

Plaintiff/Petitioner

Name Printed or Typed of Plaintiff/Petitioner

Address

Email Address

Telephone Number Date

Plaintiff s/Petitioner's Attorney

Name Printed or Typed of Plaintiff's/Petitioner's Attorney

Address
Email Address Telephone Number
Date State Bar No. (if any)
GF-175, 11/19 Declaration of Nonmilitary Service 15 U.S.C. §3931, 50 U.S.C. §3912 and §321.62, Wisconsin Statutes
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