Waukesha County


Waukesha County has received an annual allocation of Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funds from HUD since 1990. The allocation is approximately $1,300,000 each year, and can be used for projects and services throughout the County. The CDBG program is governed by an 11-member Board of Directors, appointed by the Waukesha County Executive. The CDBG Board holds an annual grant application process every spring for potential subgrantees, which include nonprofit organizations and municipalities. CDBG funds are used for a variety of public services programs that address issues such as: homeless prevention and shelter, food and nutrition, medical care, domestic abuse, parenting, mental health, and transportation for low and moderate income people. Funds are also used for affordable housing, public facilities and improvements, and economic development.



The HOME Consortium is a four county consortium (Jefferson, Washington, Ozaukee and Waukesha) with Waukesha County serving as the lead entity for grant purposes. The HOME Consortium receives approximately $1,000,000 allocation from HUD each year, which is used for affordable housing. The  12-member HOME Board of Directors allocates the funds into core programs which are available as grants and loans to low-and-moderate income residents of the four counties. The core programs include a Downpayment Assistance program for homebuyers, a Housing Rehabilitation program for homeowners, and a Purchase-Rehabilitation program which combines the other two into one product. In addition, the HOME Board funds the development or rehabilitation of affordable rental and homeowner projects.

Learn more about the HOME Consortium and available programs



Business Hours: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm Monday - Friday (excluding holidays)
515 W. Moreland Blvd. - Room AC 320 - Waukesha, WI 53188
Kristin Silva - Community Development Manager - Phone (262) 896-3370 - Fax (262) 896-8510
Lisa Johnson - Subgrantee Reporting & Invoices - Phone (262) 548-7920 
Christina Brockish - Contract Information - Phone (262) 896-8311
Debbie Narus - Homebuyer Programs - Phone (262) 896-8170