Waukesha County

New Environmental  Education Program Kicks Off in Waukesha County

WAUKESHA, WI) – On Tuesday, September 12, 2017, a new environmental education program kicked off for K—12 students in Waukesha County. The program is a collaboration between Waukesha County, the School District of Waukesha and Carroll University in order to create a regional environmental education model that meets state and national academic standards.

“We are sharing our resources to build upon and enhance access to educational opportunities for all students in Waukesha County,” said Waukesha County Executive Paul Farrow.  

The program aims to improve environmental education, and to increase student field experiences and science-based learning, research and applications. This year’s pilot program includes select School District of Waukesha schools, with a countywide launch expected for the 2018/2019 school year.

“We’re enthusiastic about the opportunities that this new partnership will be able to provide for students, and our ability to utilize additional facilities to enhance the curriculum,” said Kim Hofkamp, Certifying Officer and Director of Clinical experience at Carroll University.

Students will have access to the Retzer Nature Center, the Prairie Springs Environmental Education Center, and EB Shurts Environmental Education Center, in addition to shared lessons and educational materials as part of the new program.

About the Waukesha County Park System

Waukesha County’s Park System demonstrates stewardship while providing recreational and educational opportunities. For more information, visit our web site at www.waukeshacountyparks.com or follow @WaukeshaCoParks on Twitter or like us on Facebo

About Carroll University

Carroll University was incorporated in 1846, making it Wisconsin’s first four-year institution of higher learning. The independent, co-educational comprehensive university is grounded in the liberal arts tradition. For more information, visit www.carrollu.edu, and follow us on Twitter and Facebook.

About the School District of Waukesha

The School District of Waukesha is the state’s seventh largest district, with nearly 13,000 students in 18 traditional schools; five charter schools; and one magnet school.  The district offers strong K-12 public education with multiple programs to meet the needs of every child, including personalized learning; dual language; special education; an online K-12 school; iPads for every student; and strong partnerships with area businesses to address the skills gap.

Connect with us! Facebook Linkedin Twitter YouTube Connect with us on Nextdoor