Waukesha County

Household Hazardous Waste Collection Sites Improve Efficiency with Scanners in 2018

Waukesha County County’s Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) collection sites are going paperless to save time and resources. Starting January 1st, residents will simply be able to have their IDs scanned when they dispose of hazardous materials instead of filling out a form to verify proof of residency.

“Scanning IDs will simplify the disposal process and increase efficiency at HHW collection sites,” said Rebecca Mattano, Solid Waste Supervisor for Waukesha County. “It eliminates the need to fill out and process paperwork for residents, contractors, and County staff.”

Waukesha County’s four permanent HHW collection sites are located in Muskego, Waukesha, Menomonee Falls, and Franklin. Proof of residency and valid ID has always been required. Driver’s license numbers are not recorded.

Accepted household hazardous waste includes old, unusable chemicals, pesticides, wood preservatives, solvents, oil-based paints, and mercury-containing products. Latex paint, non-hazardous cleaning materials, antifreeze, motor oil, and filters will not be accepted. Check with your municipal drop-off site for antifreeze, motor oil, and oil filter recycling. 

For more information, including a detailed list of acceptable household hazardous waste materials and permanent collection site locations, visit www.waukeshacounty.gov/hazardouswaste, call 262-896-8300 or download our free mobile app Waukesha County Recycles available on Google Play and Apple App Stores. Also, like Waukesha County Recycles on Facebook and follow us on Twitter for updates about this and other special collection events, recycling education information, resources and more!

Connect with us! Facebook Linkedin Twitter YouTube Connect with us on Nextdoor