Waukesha County

Waukesha County Board to Vote on County Clerk Appointment of Margaret Wartman in December

A resolution recommending Margaret “Meg” Wartman to fill the remainder of the Waukesha County Clerk’s term will go before the Waukesha County Board’s Executive Committee on December 10 and will be voted on at the County Board’s December 18 meeting. If approved, Wartman would be sworn in on January 7, 2019.


“Meg really stood out with her background in elections and her proven track record as a manager,” said Chairman Paul Decker. “She will bring a collaborative management style to the Office of County Clerk that will promote positive working relationships with our municipal partners and county departments. I expect Meg to get broad support by the County Board.”


Wartman’s background includes serving on the Waukesha County Board of Canvassers as well as Chief Inspector and poll worker for the city of Brookfield. Wartman served on the Elmbrook School Board from 2003-2015, as president for four years and vice president for five years. The interview panel was impressed with her organizational and leadership skills as well as her readiness to improve customer service.


Current Waukesha County Clerk Kathleen Novack announced plans to resign on November 7. Following this announcement, the position was posted for two weeks. A panel with representation from the County Board, County Executive’s Office, Human Resources and the Wisconsin County Clerks Association reviewed applications and interviewed preferred candidates last week.


Novack’s term expires on January 3, 2021. To hold office past this date, Wartman must run for election in the August 11, 2020 primary election and the November 3, 2020 general election for the new term beginning January 4, 2021.


About the Waukesha County Board of Supervisors

The 25 members of the Waukesha County Board of Supervisors set policy by establishing plans, approving ordinances, resolutions and reviewing the annual budget. More information is available at www.waukeshacounty.gov/countyboard.