
FACT SHEET FOR SCHOOLS 
New Vaccine Requirements for 2013-2014 

 
Two new vaccine requirements were added to the Student School Immunization Law beginning with the  
2008-2009 school year.  Each year additional grades were phased-in and now in 2013-2014 all grades are 
included in the requirement.  
 
In 2013-2014 the requirements are as follows: 

 One dose of Tdap (Tetanus, diphtheria and acellular pertussis) vaccine is required for 
students entering grades 6 through 12. 

 A second dose of varicella (chickenpox) vaccine is required for students entering grades K5 (5 yr 
old kindergarten) through 12. 

 

1.  What do schools need to do and what forms should be used? 
Inform parents of children in the affected grades about the requirements.  The State of Wisconsin 
Immunization Program website has information and forms that may be used.  Go to 
www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/immunization/reqs.htm.  Under School Requirements, select the forms that you need.  

 Student Immunization Law Age/Grade Requirements 

 Fact Sheet for Parents of Middle and High School Students 

 Student Immunization Record  (F-04020L, Rev 05/11)  
The Student Immunization Record should be used to document the Tdap and varicella vaccines.  Parents 
should complete the boxes outlined in bold, sign and return the form to school. 
 

2.  Are there exceptions to the Tdap and Varicella requirements? 
Yes, for Tdap vaccine, the student is compliant if: 

 Entering 6
th
 grade and received any tetanus-containing vaccine (DTP, DTaP, DT, TT or Td) within 

5 years.  Tdap vaccine is not required now or in a future grade. However, it is recommended by 
the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) that everyone age 11 and up receives a 
Tdap.  
  

 Enrolling for the first time in a Wisconsin school and entering 6
th
 through 12

th
 grade and received 

any tetanus-containing vaccine (DTP, DTaP, DT, TT or Td) within 5 years. Tdap vaccine is not 
required now or in a future grade. However, it is recommended by the CDC that everyone age 
11 and up receive a Tdap.  

 
Example:  If a student received a dose of Td vaccine because of an injury within 5 years of entering 6

th
 grade, 

the student has met the Tdap requirement (even though s/he has not actually received Tdap vaccine); the 
student is not required to receive Tdap vaccine now and will always remain compliant with the school law.  
 

IMPORTANT NOTE 

 
If a 7

th
 through 12

th
 grader was compliant with the Tdap requirement or the exception in a previous year,  

DO NOT review their record again for Tdap. 
 
Once a student is compliant, they remain compliant with the school law EVEN IF it is now more than  
5 years since their last tetanus-containing vaccine. 

 
For the varicella vaccine, if a parent claims that a child has had chickenpox disease or shingles, even after the 
first dose of chickenpox vaccine, that child is not required to receive another vaccine and is compliant with the 
law. 
 

3.  Can vaccine requirements be waived? 
Any immunization requirements may be waived if parents elect a religious or personal conviction waiver on 
the Student Immunization Record form.  They must check the appropriate box and sign the waiver. A health 
waiver is also available and must be signed by a physician. 
 
 
If you have questions about these vaccine requirements, please contact Waukesha County Public 
Health Division at 262-896-8430 and ask for the Nurse Call Center or access the information on our 
website at www.waukeshacounty.gov/immunizations. 
 

http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/immunization/reqs.htm
http://www.waukeshacounty.gov/immunizations

