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CHAPTER 3

GENERAL COUNTY INFORMATION

ARTICLE I. GENERAL BUILDING REGULATIONS

Sec. 3-1. County office hours.

(a)  The county law library and all county offices, except the sheriff's office, shall be closed
on Saturdays.

(b)  Subject to the provisions of subsection (a), courthouse offices shall be open, at a
minimum, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and all full-time offices shall be open during the noon
hour.
(Res. No. 68, 9-24-57; Res. No. 6, 5-29-73; Ord. No 142-134, § 1, 2-3-88) 

State law reference - Authority of county to regulate office hours, Wis. Stat. § 59.20(3)

Sec. 3-2. Smoke-free environment.

(a) All buildings and facilities under the County’s control are smoke free environments and
no individual is permitted to smoke within any such building or facility.

(b) Smoking within forty (40) feet of the outside of any entrance of a building or facility on
County grounds is prohibited, except as described below:

1. Justice Center balconies within the County jail;
2. Designated area(s) within the Courthouse/Administration Center courtyard;
3. Designated area near the Health and Human Services Center Receiving area; and,
4. Designated area(s) at the Mental Health Center.

(c) The County Executive may specify additional designated smoking areas and may also
make modifications to those designated smoking areas listed in sub. (b). Any modifications shall
be subject to review and approval by the Personnel Committee.
Editor’s Note: the numbers of the subsections were changed to letters to keep the formatting uniform with the rest of the Code.
Consequently, the reference to sub. 2 in the last section was changed to sub. (b).

(Ord. No. 144-53, § 1, 8-15-89; Ord. No. 162-41, §1, 08-14-07)

Secs. 3-3 - 3-10. Reserved.

ARTICLE II. FEES AND JURY COMPENSATION

Sec. 3-11. Compensation and travel expenses.

(a) The compensation of persons called to serve as jurors shall be in accordance with
Wisconsin Statutes.
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(b) Persons called to serve as jurors shall be reimbursed for travel expenses at the rate
provided for by statute.
(Res. No. 242-2/80, 2-26-80)

State law reference - Compensation of jurors, Wis. Stats. §756.25 and § 20.916(8).

Sec. 3-12. Fees for copies and recording.

(a) The fees for copies made by the county clerk under the provisions of section 59.23(2) of
the Wisconsin Statutes or for copies made by the county treasurer under the provisions of section
59.25(3) of the Wisconsin Statutes are as follows:

1. First copy, twenty-five cents ($0.25);
2. Each duplicate of the first copy, ten cents ($0.10);
3. Each certification, one dollar ($1.00).

(b) The fees for the following services are as follows:

1. Recording certificates by the register of deeds under the provisions of section
867.045(2) of the Wisconsin Statutes, ten dollars ($10.00);

2. Each additional page required for instruments submitted for recording with the
register of deeds under the provisions of section 59.43(2)(a) of the Wisconsin
Statutes, two dollars ($2.00) per page.

(Res. No. 82-84, 7-17-84)

State law reference - Authority to establish fees, Wis. Stat. § 19.35(3).

Secs. 3-13 - 3-20. Reserved.

ARTICLE III. REGISTER OF DEEDS AUTHORIZATIONS

Sec. 3-21. Authority of register of deeds to destroy certain documents.

The register of deeds is authorized to destroy all obsolete documents relating to chattels in his
office that are more than seven (7) years old.
(Res. No. 12, 6-20-72)

State law reference - Authority to so provide, Wis. Stat. § 59.43(12)(a).

Sec. 3-22. Authority of register of deeds to microfilm.

The register of deeds shall record, copy, re-copy, or replace any document which he is
authorized or required by law to keep on file, by microfilm or other mechanical process which
produces a clear, accurate, and permanent copy or reproduction of the original document,
pursuant to chapter 228, Wisconsin Statutes.  The register of deeds may substitute the headings
reel and image (frame) for volume and page where recorded and different classes of instruments
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may be recorded, reproduced or copied on the same reel or part of a reel.
(Res. No. 116, 2-1-72; Res. No. 117, 2-1-72)

State law reference - Authority to so provide, Wis. Stat. § 228.01.

Sec. 3-23. Copies of daily recordings, filings of documents relative to real property; fees.

(a)  Register of deeds may contract to provide copies; authority of county board to set and
reuse fees for providing such copies.  The register of deeds may enter into contracts with
municipalities, private corporations, associations and other persons to provide non-certified
copies of the complete daily recordings and filings of documents pertaining to real property,
pursuant to section 59.43(2)(c), Wisconsin Statutes.  The executive committee of the county
board shall be delegated the ongoing authority to set and revise fees for the register of deed's
provision of such documents; revision shall be considered only upon the written request of the
register of deeds.

(b) Fees to be reasonable; amounts.  The fees set by the executive committee shall be
reasonable in amount and shall be based upon the register of deeds costs, which amount in no
event shall be less than the cost of labor and material plus a reasonable allowance for plant and
depreciation of equipment used.
(Ord. No. 142-121, § 1, 12-18-87)

Editor's note - Section 1 of Ord. No. 142-121, adopted Dec. 18, 1987, repealed former § 2-205 and enacted a new § 2-505 to
read as herein set out. Former § 2-505 pertained to fees for copies of public records and derived from Res. No. 23612/84,
adopted Dec. 19, 1984.

State law reference - Authority of register of deeds to enter into contracts to have records copied, Wis. Stat. § 59.43(2)(c).

Secs. 3-24 - 3-35. Reserved.

ARTICLE IV. MISCELLANEOUS AUTHORIZATIONS

Sec. 3-36. Auditor access to information and records.

(a) All officers and employees of the county and parties contracting with the county shall
provide access to and furnish the county auditors with requested information, records and reports
regarding powers, duties, activities, organization property, financial transactions, methods of
operation, or any and all other records, reports or information in their custody.  In addition, they
shall provide access for the auditors to inspect all property, equipment and facilities within their
custody.

(b) Any information provided to the auditors which is deemed confidential by federal, state or
local laws shall be held as confidential and not disclosed to the public.

(c) The auditors shall have access to reasonable staff time of agency officers and employees
as may be required for the performance of his or her duties.
(Ord. No. 145-116, § 1, 10-16-90)
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Editor's note - Ordinance No. 145-116, adopted Oct. 16, 1990, did not specifically amend this Code; hence, inclusion of  § 1 as
§ 2-508 was at the discretion of the editor.

Sec. 3-37. Use of court commissioners in small claims matters.

Court commissioners in the county, appointed under Wisconsin Statutes section 757.68(1),
shall be authorized to assist in the administration of small claims matters, including the conduct
of hearings and proceedings as described by Wisconsin Statutes chapter 799, and those additional
duties and authorities described Wisconsin Statutes section 757.69.
(Res. No. 283-2/86 3-27-86)

Editor’s Note: Obsolete reference to §757.13 removed.

Secs. 3-38 - 3-45. Reserved.

ARTICLE V. RESERVED

Secs. 3-46 - 3-65. Reserved.

ARTICLE VI. PUBLIC RECORDS

Division 1. Generally

Reserved.

Division 2. Records Retention

Sec. 3-66. Purpose.

The purpose of this chapter is to establish a county wide records retention schedule and
authorize destruction of county records pursuant to that schedule on an annual basis.  Record
custodians do not have the authority to destroy records prior to the established retention period
unless such records have been photographically reproduced as original records pursuant to
section 16.61(7), Wisconsin Statutes, and any applicable section of this Code.  If there is not a
specific law requiring a specific retention period, all records must be retained seven (7) years,
unless the Wisconsin Public Records and Forms Board fixes a shorter period.
(Ord. No. 144-135, 10-17-89)

Sec. 3-67. Definitions.

As used in this division:

Legal custodian means the individual responsible for maintaining records pursuant to section
19.33, Wisconsin Statutes.

Record means record as defined in section 19.32(2), Wisconsin Statutes.
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 (Ord. No. 144-135, 10-17-89)

Cross reference - Authority of register of deeds to destroy certain records, § 3-21.

Sec. 3-68. Historical society notification.

Prior to the destruction of any public record described in this division, at least sixty (60) days'
notice in writing shall be given to the state historical society of Wisconsin.  This division shall
not be construed to authorize the destruction of any public record after a period less than
prescribed by statute or state or federal administrative regulation.
(Ord. No. 144-136, 10-17-89)

Sec. 3-69. Destruction after request for inspection.

No requested record may be destroyed until after the request is granted by the state historical
society of Wisconsin or sixty (60) days after the request is denied.  If an action is commenced
under section 19.37, Wisconsin Statutes, the requested record may not be destroyed until a court
order is issued and all appeals have been completed.  See section 19.36(6), Wisconsin Statutes.
 (Ord. No.144-135, 10-17-89)

Sec. 3-70. Destruction pending litigation.

No record subject to pending litigation shall be destroyed until the litigation has been
resolved.
(Ord. No. 144-136, 10-17-89)

Sec. 3-71. Preservation of county records.

County records may be kept and preserved by any means approved by the county board and
allowed by Wisconsin Statutes. County records may be kept and preserved through the use of
microfiche providing that the microfilming meets meets the applicable standards established in
section 16.61(7), Wis. Stats. After verification that destruction is allowed, paper records may be
destroyed if these records are to be preserved in accordance with this section.
(Ord. No. 144-136, 10-17-89)

Sec. 3-72. Review and approval by public records and forms board.

This division shall be reviewed and approved by the public records and forms board prior to
its effective date.
 (Ord. No. 144-136, 10-17-89)

Secs. 3-73 - 3-80. Reserved.

ARTICLE VII.   DISPOSAL OF COUNTY PROPERTY

Sec. 3-81. Policy.
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(a) It is declared to be the policy of the county that surplus or obsolete county property shall
be  disposed of by the method most advantageous and cost effective to include:

1. Reallocation from one county department to another.
2. Sale through means of direct best offer, highest bid, or public auction.
3. Donation to a nonprofit organization, preferably one which is located within

Waukesha County.
4. Sale as scrap for salvage value.
5. Discard as refuse or trash.

(b) The disposition methods outlined in this section do not apply to county property which is
disposed of:

1. On a case-by-case basis by separate ordinance.
2. Under a specific method authorized by a different ordinance (i.e; county property

disposed of for value as part of a purchase transaction)
3. Through enactment of disposition policy as contained in the annual operating budget

(i.e., computer equipment, vehicle/equipment and copier replacement funds).
(Ord. No. 150-112, § 1, 3-12-96)

Sec. 3-82. Definitions.

Terms below have the following definitions:

County property.  All assets or fixed assets owned by Waukesha County.  As used in this
article, county property does not include real property such as land or buildings.

Asset.  A non-consumable item with a useful life greater than one (1) year and a current value
less than one thousand dollars ($1,000.00)

Fixed asset.  A non-consumable item with a useful life greater than one (1) year and a current
value greater than one thousand dollars ($1,000.00).

Obsolete.  County property which the county no longer needs.

Refuse.  An item for which the cost of disposal exceeds its current value.

Surplus.  County property which a department no longer needs but which may be useful to
another department.
(Ord. No. 150-112, § 1, 3-12-96)

Sec. 3-83. Responsibilities.

(a) All county departments are required to notify the department of administration of any
county property which a department has determined to be surplus or obsolete.



7

(b) The department of administration is responsible for:

1. Determining procedures for the reallocation of county property.
2. Preparing a summary list of all county property which has not been reallocated or

which has not been disposed of as refuse and which will be subject to disposal under
this policy.  The list shall include a recommendation on a method of disposal.

3. Submitting to the finance committee, prior to disposal, a process for disposition based
on the hierarchal order as set forth in this article.

(c) The finance committee shall review the process to dispose of county property under this
article. However, if the finance committee has not acted to reject the department's recommended
process at its next meeting, then the department shall dispose of the items as it had
recommended.
(Ord. No. 150-112, § 1, 3-12-96)
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