# NAME CHANGE INFORMATIONAL SHEET FOR MINOR CHILD UNDER 14

#### **General Information:**

All petitions for Name Change are filed in Room C-167 of the Civil Division of the Waukesha County Courthouse. General information about the name change process is contained in Wisconsin Statutes §786.36 and §786.37.

Filing Fees: Please check with Clerk of Courts staff for the current filing fee

Petitioner: The parent(s) or legal guardian of a minor seeking to change the child's name. The

petitioner must be a resident of Waukesha County and be at least 14 years of age.

- If the petition is for the name change of a minor under 14 years of age who has 2 living parents and the petition is being made by one parent of the minor, the petitioner shall serve a copy of the petition and notice on the non-petitioning parent. Because the requirements regarding change of name for a minor can be confusing, a petitioner may wish to refer to Wisconsin Statutes §786.36 and §786.37 or consult an attorney.
- The petitioner may request that the petition to change a child's name be made confidential if publication could potentially endanger the child. The Court will make a finding as to this request at a status hearing prior to the name change hearing.\*\*
- A copy of the statute governing change of name of a minor may be obtained in Room C-167 of the Waukesha County Courthouse upon request and for a nominal copy fee.

#### Instructions for Completing Name Change for Minor Child Under 14 forms:

#### PLEASE COMPLETE:

- Petition for Change of Name CV-455 (Minor Child under 14) Petitioner must complete the entire form.
- Notice for Name Change Hearing CV-460. Petitioner should complete the form with the exception of the judge's name, location, and date of hearing. The remainder of the document will be completed at the time of filing.
- Response of Non-Petitioning Parent to Name Change of Minor Child Under 14 CV-480. To be completed by the Non-petitioning parent.
- Declaration of Attempted Service on Non-Petitioning Parent CV-465. To be completed by Petitioning parent, IF APPLICABLE.

### Filing Instructions:

- 1. Completed forms and the current filing fee should be presented for filing in Room C-167 of the courthouse. A case number, judge and hearing date will be assigned at the time of filing. The hearing date assigned will be at least six weeks into the future to allow time for the petitioner to publish the petition (see item #2).
- 2. After the case is filed, the clerk in Room C-167 will make two (2) copies each of the Notice and Order

for Name Change Hearing and the Petition for Name Change. The petitioner must take the Name Change Papers to a newspaper in the community in which he/she resides for publication and arrange to have the Notice published. The Notice must appear in the newspaper once a week for three consecutive weeks. The newspaper will send proof of publication back to the petitioner, and the petitioner must file the proof of publication with the court prior to or at the time of the hearing.

- 3. On the assigned hearing date, the petitioner should take all necessary paperwork to court. The petitioner should go to the assigned courtroom, check in with the clerk, and follow the instructions given by the clerk and/or the judge. After the hearing, the judge will sign the Order for Name Change if granted.
- 4. Immediately following your hearing with the Court, you will be directed to the Court Administration Office of the Clerk of Courts Office, Room C380 to receive the signed order, make payments, and complete your name change process. Payments include the \$30.00 recording fee payable by check only to the Waukesha County Register of Deeds. Register of Deeds also requires a certified order at \$7.50 to record the name change pursuant to Wisconsin State Statutes. The payment and document will be forwarded to the Office of the Register of Deeds by the clerk. If changing vital records, you will be asked to complete the State of Wisconsin Bureau of Vital Records form and payment by check only. The base fee is \$30.00 with an additional \$3.00 per additional copy (optional). The payment and document will be forwarded to Vital Records by the clerk. You may also purchase copies of the certified name change order at \$7.50 per order for your personal records. To avoid any delay in registering your name change on the date of your hearing, it is recommended you bring at least two checks to pay these additional fees.

### \*\*Instructions for Completing CONFIDENTIAL Name Change for Minor Child under 14 forms:

#### **PLEASE COMPLETE:**

- Petition for Confidential Name Change for Minor Child under 14 (CV-456) Petitioner must complete the entire form.
- Notice and Order for Confidential Name Change Hearing CV-461 Petitioner should complete the form with the exception of the judge's name, location, and date of hearing. The remainder of the document will be completed at the time of filing.

## Filing Instructions:

- 1. Completed forms and the current filing fee should be presented for filing in Room C-167 of the courthouse. A case number, judge and two (2) hearing dates will be assigned at the time of filing. The initial status hearing will be for the Court to determine if the petition may be confidential and no publication is necessary. The second hearing date assigned will be at least six weeks into the future.
- 2. On the initial status hearing date, the petitioner should take all necessary paperwork to court. The petitioner should go to the assigned courtroom, check in with the clerk, and follow the instructions given by the clerk and/or the judge. On the subsequent name change hearing date, the petitioner should go to the assigned courtroom, check in with the clerk. If the Court previously ordered that the petition not be confidential, the petitioner must file the Proof of Publication at this court hearing. Either way, the judge will sign the Order for Name Change if granted.
- 3. If petition granted, immediately following your hearing with the Court, you will be directed to the Court Administration Office of the Clerk of Courts Office, Room C380 to receive the signed order, make payments, and complete your name change process. Payments include the \$30.00 recording fee payable by check only to the Waukesha County Register of Deeds. Register of Deeds also requires a certified order at \$7.50 to record the name change pursuant to Wisconsin State Statutes. The payment and M:\CIVIL\NAMECHANGE FORMS\Name Change Info sheet for Minor Under 14 REVISED 4.15.2025.doc

## Page 3 of 3

document will be forwarded to the Office of the Register of Deeds by the clerk. If changing vital records, you will be asked to complete the State of Wisconsin Bureau of Vital Records form and payment by check only. The base fee is \$30.00 with an additional \$3.00 per additional copy (optional). The payment and document will be forwarded to Vital Records by the clerk. You may also purchase copies of the certified name change order at \$7.50 per order for your personal records. To avoid any delay in registering your name change on the date of your hearing, it is recommended you bring at least two checks to pay these additional fees.