NAME CHANGE INFORMATIONAL SHEET
FOR ADULT OR MINOR 14 OR OLDER

General Information:

All petitions for Name Change are filed in Room C-167 of the Civil Division of the Waukesha County
Courthouse. General information about the name change process is contained in Wisconsin Statutes
§786.36 and §786.37.

The petitioner may request that the name change petition be confidential if publication could potentially
endanger the petitioner. The Court will make a finding as to this request at a status hearing prior to the

name change hearing.™

Filing Fees:  Please check with Clerk of Courts staff for the current filing fee
Petitioner: The petitioner is the party who is seeking to change his/her name

Instructions for Completing Name Change forms:

PLEASE COMPLETE:

>

Petition for Name Change for Adult of Minor 14 or Older CV-450
Petitioner must complete the entire form.

Notice for Name Change Hearing CV-460
Petitioner should complete the form with the exception of the judge's name, location, and date of
hearing. The remainder of the document will be completed at the time of filing.

Filing Instructions:

1. Completed forms and the current filing fee should be presented for filing in Room C-167 of the
courthouse. A case number, judge and hearing date will be assigned at the time of filing. The hearing
date assigned will be at least six (6) weeks into the future to allow time for the petitioner to publish the
petition (see item #2).

2. After the case is filed, the clerk in Room C-167 will make two (2) copies each of the Notice and Order
for Name Change Hearing and the Petition for Name Change. The petitioner must take the Name
Change Papers to a newspaper in the community in which he/she resides for publication and
arrange to have the Notice published. The Notice must appear in the newspaper once a week for
three consecutive weeks. The newspaper will send proof of publication back to the petitioner, and
the petitioner must file the proof of publication with the court prior to or at the time of the hearing.

3. The petitioner will also be provided forms to obtain a current driver's record and criminal history check.
Please complete these forms and forward with the correct fee to the proper agencies.

4. If you hold a professional license (other than a license to teach in the public schools) and your name
change is for a reason other than marriage or divorce, you may need the approval of your licensing board
or commission to change your name to a name other than the name listed on your license. Contact the
appropriate board to learn its requirements.
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5. On the assigned hearing date, the petitioner should take all necessary paperwork to court. The
petitioner should go to the assigned courtroom, check in with the clerk, and follow the instructions given by
the clerk and/or the judge. After the hearing, the judge will sign the Order for Name Change if granted.

6. Immediately following your hearing with the court, you will be directed to the Civil Division of the Clerk
of Courts Office, Room C380 to receive the signed order, make payments, and complete your name
change process. Payments include the $30.00 recording fee payable by check only to the Waukesha
County Register of Deeds. Register of Deeds also requires a certified order at $7.50 to record the name
change pursuant to Wisconsin State Statutes. The payment and document will be forwarded to the Office
of the Register of Deeds by the clerk. If changing vital records, you will be asked to complete the State of
Wisconsin Bureau of Vital Records form and payment by check only. The base fee is $30.00 with an
additional $3.00 per additional copy (optional). The payment and document will be forwarded to Vital
Records by the clerk. You may also purchase copies of the certified name change order at $7.50 per
order for your personal records. To avoid any delay in registering your name change on the date of your
hearing, it is recommended you bring at least two checks to pay these additional fees.

*Instructions for Completing CONFIDENTIAL Name Change for Adult or Minor 14 or Older forms:

PLEASE COMPLETE:

» Petition for Confidential Name Change for Adult or Minor 14 or Older (CV-451) Petitioner
must complete the entire form.

» Notice for Confidential Name Change Hearing (CV-461) Petitioner should complete the form
with the exception of the judge's name, location, and date of hearing. The remainder of the
document will be completed at the time of filing.

Filing Instructions:

1. Completed forms and the current filing fee should be presented for filing in Room C-167 of the
courthouse. A case number, judge and two (2) hearing dates will be assigned at the time of filing. The
initial status hearing will be for the Court to determine if the petition may be confidential and no publication
is necessary. The second hearing date assigned will be at least six weeks into the future,

2. The petitioner will also be provided forms to obtain a current driver's record and criminal history check.
Please complete these forms and forward with the correct fee to the proper agencies.

3. On the initial status hearing date, the petitioner should take all necessary paperwork to court. The
petitioner should go to the assigned courtroom, check in with the clerk, and follow the instructions given by
the clerk and/or the judge. On the subsequent name change hearing date, the petitioner should go to the
assigned courtroom and check in with the clerk. If the Court previously ordered that the petition not be
confidential, the petitioner must file the Proof of Publication at this court hearing. Either way, the judge will
sign the Order for Name Change if granted.

4. If petition granted, immediately following your hearing with the Court, you will be directed to the Court
Administration Office of the Clerk of Courts Office, Room C380 to receive the signed order, make
payments, and complete your name change process. Payments include the $30.00 recording fee payable
by check only to the Waukesha County Register of Deeds. Register of Deeds also requires a certified
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order at $7.50 to record the name change pursuant to Wisconsin State Statutes. The payment and
document will be forwarded to the Office of the Register of Deeds by the clerk. If changing vital records,
you will be asked to complete the State of Wisconsin Bureau of Vital Records form and payment by check
only. The base fee is $30.00 with an additional $3.00 per additional copy (optional). The payment and
document will be forwarded to Vital Records by the clerk. You may also purchase copies of the certified
name change order at $7.50 per order for your personal records. To avoid any delay in registering your

name change on the date of your hearing, it is recommended you bring at least two checks to pay these
additional fees.
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This guide provides a general outline of name change proceedings in Wisconsin. Procedure
may vary by county. Any forms mentioned in this guide may be obtained from the Clerk of
Court or online at http://www.wicourts.gov/forms1/circuit.htm. Please type or complete the

forms in black ink.

If you would like to request a confidential name change where you won't have to publish notice
of the proposed name change, you must prove to the court that publication of the name change
could endanger you and that you're not seeking a name change in order to avoid a debt or
conceal a criminal record. (§786.37(4), Wis. Stats.) If the court makes this finding, all records
related to the name change will remain confidential. (§786.36(2m)(a), Wis. Stats.) There are
specific forms to use for confidential name changes that are different than the forms listed
below. The confidential name change forms can also be found online at
http://www.wicourts.gov/forms1/circuit.htm.

Introduction
Any eligible resident of Wisconsin, whether a minor or an adult, may petition the court in the
county where he or she resides to have his or her name changed.

If you hold a professional license (other than a license to teach in the public schools) and your
name change is for a reason other than marriage or divorce, you may need the approval of
your licensing board or commission to change your name to a name other than the name on
your license. Contact the appropriate board to learn its requirements.

A person, including a juvenile, required to register as a sex offender under §301.45(1g), Wis.
Stats., may not change his or her name. (§301.47(2)(a), WI Stats.)

If you are already married and changing your last name to your spouse’s last name or
hyphenating your last names, please contact Vital Records prior to filing a petition with the
court.

Phone: 608-266-1373

Email: DHSVitalRecords@wisconsin.gov

[ ]11. Fill out a Petition for Name Change form. There are two Petition for Name Change
forms. If the person whose name is proposed to be changed is an adult or a minor age
14 or over, complete CV-450. Use CV-455 if the person whose name is proposed to be
changed is a minor under 14 years of age. The form has step-by-step instructions on
the left side. If the person whose name is proposed to be changed is a minor under 14
years of age, the petition must be made by:

a. Both living parents, the sole surviving parent, or the sole adoptive parent of the
minor child.

CV-490, 09/24 Basic Steps for Handling a Name Change Page 1 of 3



Basic Steps for Handling a Name Change

b. One of the parents of the minor child who has two living parents and paternity has
been established.

c. The mother, and the minor child is a non-marital minor child who is not adopted or
whose parents have not married, and paternity of the minor child has not been
established.

d. The legal guardian/custodian of the minor child because either both parents are
dead or the parental rights of both parents have been terminated by judicial
proceedings.

Once you have filled out the Petition for Name Change form, you should make at least
two copies of the completed form.

Fill out a Notice and Order for Name Change Hearing form. The form (CV-460) has
step-by-step instructions on the left side. Once you have filled it out, you should make at
least two copies of the completed form.

Fill out an Order for Name Change form or the Clerk of Court in your county may
complete it for you. The form (CV-470) has step-by-step instructions on the left side.
Once you have filled it out, you should make at least two copies of the completed form.

File the Petition for Name Change, Notice and Order for Name Change Hearing
and Order for Name Change (if required in your county) forms. The original forms
and any required copies must be filed and a fee paid to the Clerk of Court in the
county where you are filing your case. Exact procedures vary locally, but you will be
assigned a date and time for the hearing and some of your copies will be authenticated
and returned to you.

Publish the Notice and Order for Name Change Hearing form in a local
newspaper. State law requires publication of third class notice (printed once a week for
three weeks) of the Notice of Hearing form in a local newspaper prior to the hearing
date. There are official newspapers in many municipalities, but generally you can use
any newspaper regularly published at least once a week in the city, village, or town
where the petitioner resides. There will be a fee charged for publication. After the
publication is completed, the newspaper will provide you with a “Declaration of
Publication.” Follow local court rules for filing the proof of publication with the Clerk of
Courts before the hearing date or presenting it at the name change hearing.

If one parent is filing on behalf of a minor under 14 whose paternity has been
established (1.b., above), have the non-petitioning parent served with a copy of
the Petition for Name Change of Name and Notice and Order for Name Change
Hearing forms. For the court to hear the case, the non-petitioning parent must be
provided with a copy of the Petition for Name Change and Notice and Order for Name
Change Hearing far enough in advance of the hearing. A sheriff or private process
server must attempt to personally serve the non-petitioning parent. You will be charged
a fee for this task. Once the documents have been served, you will be sent a proof of
service. When proof of service is returned, take the original to the Clerk of Courts for
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Basic Steps for Handling a Name Change

filing after you make a copy of the proof of service for yourself. Bring the document to
the hearing.

If personal service cannot be accomplished, proof of due diligence in service attempt
must be filed with the court. A Declaration/Certificate of Non-Service will be sent to you
by the sheriff or process server and the Declaration of Attempted Service on Non-
Petitioning Parent (CV-465) can be used to demonstrate attempted service on the
non-petitioner. File these documents with the Clerk of Court at or before the first court
date according to local court rules.

Attend the Name Change Hearing. Be on time and be polite. Do not get emotional.
You must have the original or certified copy of the birth certificate for the judge’s review.
The judge will ask you for the “Declaration of Publication.” If one living parent is filing on
behalf of a minor, proof of service or attempted service on the other living parent must
also be provided at the hearing. You may be placed under oath and questioned about
the information on the Petition. If your petition is granted, the judge will sign the Order
for Name Change. If your petition is not granted, the judge will complete an Order
Denying Name Change (CV-475).

For minors under 14 whose paternity has been established and one parent is the
petitioning party, if the non-petitioning parent does not appear at the hearing or
otherwise answer the petition, the action may proceed. If the non-petitioning parent
appears at the hearing or otherwise answers the petition and shows that he or she has
not abandoned the minor, or failed to assume parental responsibility for the minor, the
court shall require the consent of the non-petitioning parent before changing the name
of the minor. The Response of Non-Petitioning Parent to Name Change of Minor
Child Under 14 form (CV-480) may be used to record the non-petitioning parent’s
position on the requested name change. File this document with the Clerk of Court
according to local court rule.

File the Order for Name Change according to local court procedure and complete
any post-decision activities. File the Order for Name Change with the Clerk of Courts
office. Follow local procedure for recording a certified copy of the order in the Register
of Deeds office in the county where the name change occurred. A fee will be charged.
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Enter the name of the
county in which this case
was filed.

STATE OF WISCONSIN, CIRCUIT COURT,

WAUKESHA

COUNTY

Enter the current legal
name of the person
whose name is proposed
to be changed.

Enter Petitioner’s and
Co-Petitioner’s (if any)
name(s) if the name
change is for a minor
under 14 years of age.

IN THE MATTER OF THE CONFIDENTIAL NAME CHANGE OF

First Name Middle Name Last Name
By: (Petitioner)

First Name Middle Name(s) Last Name
By: (Co-Petitioner)

First Name Middle Name(s) Last Name

Enter the case number on
the far right.

[J Amended

Notice of Confidential
Name Change Hearing

Enter the current legal
name.

Enter the proposed new
name.

Enter the name as it
currently appears on the
birth certificate.

The court will enter the
judge’s name, county,
place, date, and time for
the name change hearing.

NOTICE IS GIVEN:

A Petition was filed asking to change the name of the person listed above:

From: [First]

[Middle]
[Last]

To: (First]

[Middle]
[Last]

Birth Certificate: [First]

[Middle]
[Last]

Judge's Name

This Petition will be heard in the Circuit Court of WAUKESHA

County, State of Wisconsin:

Place Waukesha County Courthouse

515 W Moreland Blvd - Room

Waukesha, WI, 53188

Date

Time

please call

transportation.

If you require reasonable accommodations due to a disability to participate in the court process,
prior to the scheduled court date. Please note that the court does not provide

CV-481, 09/24 Notice of Confidential Name Change Hearing

§§786.36 and 786.37, Wisconsin Statutes
This form shall not be modified. It may be supplemented with additional materials.



Emert the nﬁﬂ}ehotf]' the | STATE OF WISCONSIN, CIRCUIT COURT,
county i whic 118
casc was filed. COUNTY
. IN THE MATTER OF THE CONFIDENTIAL NAME CHANGE OF

Enter your current

name. You are the

Petitioner.

First Name Middle Name Last Name
1 ] Amended o

' ! Petition for Confidential

The clerk will enter Name Change for

theasenymbe; Adult or Minor 14 or Older

(30708)
Case No.
[] One or both parties require the services of an interpreter. Which party?
Which language? Complete and file the Interpreter Request (GE-149) form
| am the petitioner and state:

In 1, enter your 1. My address is [Street Address, City, State and Zip]
| complete address.
| In 2, enter the county 2. llivein County, Wisconsin,

that vou live in.

In 3. enter the date and | 3. |was born on [Date] in the state of

state of your birth.

In 4. enter the state that the 4. My birth certificate was issued in the state of .

birth certificate was issued,
| In 5, enter the name as 5. The name that appears on my birth certificate is
| it appears on the birth (First]
. certificate, (Midde]
| [Last]
| In 6. enter your job title] 6. My currentjobis

In 7, check a or b. 7. [Ja. |donotworkin a job for which a license has been required by any state, or my
, only professional license is to teach in the public schools in this state.

(b 1 doworkin ajob (other than a licensed teacher in Wisconsin public schools) for
which a license has been required by any state. However, | have notified the
state board or commission for my profession and they do not object to my
proposed name change.

In 8, check the 8. | (Jam [Jamnot a convicted sex offender required to register under
appropriate box, §§301.45, 938.34(15m), and 938.345(3), Wisconsin Statutes or a similar law of any
other state.
| In 9, enter reasons 9. | request that this petition remain confidential because publication could endanger
why you want your me for the following reason(s):

name change
confidential.

In 10, enter your 10, | have not petitioned for a name change to avoid a debt or conceal a criminal record
l proposed new name. | | wish to change my name to [First Name]
[Middle Name(s)]
[Last Name]

Enter the reason(s) ;
you want to change For the following reason(s):
YOUTr name.,

Check 11, if you want
your name changedon | [] 11. | wish to change the name on my Wisconsin birth certificate.
vour W1 birth
certificate.

=

CV-451, 08/22 Petition for Confidential Name Change for Adult or Minor 14 or Older §5301.45 788 3a‘ana 786.37, Wisconsin Statutes
This form shall not be modified. It may be supplemented with additional materials
Page 1of 2



| declare under the penalty of false swearing that the
information | have provided is true and accurate.

’ Signature
Name Printed or Typed
Address
Emall Address Telephone Number
Date State Bar No {if any)
CV-451, 08/22 Petition for Confidential Name Change for Agult or Minor 14 or Older §5301.45, 7B6.3B and 786.37, Wisconsin Statutes

This form shall not be modified. It may be supplemented with additional materials.
Fage 2 of 2
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DOCUMENTS NEEDED FOR NAME CHANGE APPLICANTS FILING PETITION FOR
NAME CHANGE FOR ADULT OR MINOR 14 OR OLDER

DRIVING RECORD AND CRIMINAL HISTORY REPORT

The Civil Divison of the Circuit Courts requires that all people using form CV-450
requesting a name change to provide the courts with a current driving record and
a criminal history report.

The forms to obtain these records are attached with instructions for use. Please
read the attached instructions carefully. There is a fee for each record request.

1. Driving Record
The Non-Certified copy of your driving record must be ordered from the
Department of Transportation. You may request your driving record via
mail using the attached form or you may go onto the Wisconsin Motor
Vehicle website to order on line.
http://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2896.pdf
A fee will be charged. Questions you may contact the Motor Vehicle Dept.
at (608) 264-7447.

2. Criminal History Record
Your request for a criminal history report must be ordered from the
Department of Justice via mail using the attached form. A fee will be
charged. The criminal history report must be sent directly to the Clerk of
Courts Department from the Department of Justice; therefore, you must
include a pre-addressed stamped envelope containing the following
address for mailing:

Waukesha County Courthouse
Clerk of Courts- Civil Division
P.O. Box 1627
Waukesha, Wisconsin 53187-1727

Both reports must be filed with the courts prior to your name change
hearing court date. Please allow ample time to obtain the required records.
Failure to have both reports on file could result in an adjournment of the

hearing and additional expenses to you.

If you have questions please contact the Civil Division Office at: 262-548-7525.

M:\CIVIL\FORMS\NAMECHANGE FORMS\Driving_Criminal_Packet 12-4-2023



'Wisconsin DMV Official Government Site - Request your own driving record Page 1 of 1
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Request your driving record

Your motor vehicle driving abstract (commonly called a driving record) contains your driving history
for a specific period of time. Most entries remain on your record for five years, except for serious
offenses or alcohol related convictions, which remain on your record for 55 years. DMV customer
service centers do not have a public counter where driving records can be obtained.

Download your record online

Download a PDF version of your driving record using our online application.

Purchase and receive your record by mail

Complete a Vehicle/Driver Record Information Request Form MV2896 and mail it with the appropriate
fee to:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 7995
Madison, WI 53707-7995

You can check the current sta our driver license online or call (608) 264-7133 (for a recorded
message, 24 hours a day). You will need your social security number and date of birth to access this
information.

Questions? Contact us: Wisconsin DMV email service
Call: (608) 266-2353 (tOO g ) = L{ s z_{ (__] —‘]

Last modified: March 9,2012
BDS/DIS

All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. The Wisconsin
Department of Transportation does not tasﬁg to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the in.fgrmatiun provided on externally
]jlfll(led pages. Some pages contain links to other documents and media types (PDE, Word, Flash, Video, etc.) and require free
plugins to work. Visit our software information page for assistance.

hitp://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/drivers/points/abstract.htm 2/20/2014
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\ § Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT)

g”'u MV2836 7/2015

VEHICLE / DRIVER RECORD INFORMATION REQUEST

i

Title 18 USC Section 2721-2725 and 5.18.36(1) Wis. Stats.

Form MV2896 may be photocopied for future use and is also available on the DMV website at: wisconsindot gow/Documentsformdocs/mve896 paf.

This request must be completed before information about a Wisconsin vehicle or driver record can be obtained. It is the responsibility of the
requestor to determine if they qualify for the information and uses permitted under the listed Federal Acts, see page two of this form. The Wisconsin

Department of Transportation cannot determine gualification for requestors.

Public Abstract Request System (PARS) is a secure online service that allows authorized account holders to receive driver and/or vehicle record
abstracts quickly and easily using the web, Visit www porfal wi gow/iegistar for information on setting up an account,

Individuals can request their own driver or vehicle record online: wisconsindot gov/Pages/online-srves/online aspx

| Section A - Requester Information

Name (Business or other non-individual, if applicable)

Name (Individual or person completing for non-individual)

Reguester FEIN (if applicable)
OR

Requester Driver License Number

Street Address City

State

ZIP Code (Area Code) Telephone Number (daytime)

Mailing Address (if different from above) City

State

ZIP Code Email Address

| Section B - Record Information Request (For additional records, complete additional MV2896)

Incomplete or incorrect information provided may result in an additional $5 fee per driver record, and $5 fee per vehicle or Disable Parking
Identification Permit (DisID) record. If you request the histary of all owners, an additional charge of $5 per owner will be assessed. Also, $0.25 may
apply per page. Government requests are subject to a $2 fee for each paper request per 343.24(2)(d).

[ DRIVER RECORDS = List identifiers for whom record is requested (Limit 3)

Name of Person

WI Driver License Number

Birth Date

X( Non-Certified - Fee $7 each D Quantity
[0 Consistsof:
+ Driver abstract (record) summarizing recerd at time of
producing abstract

Certified - Fee $12 each Quantity

[] Consists of

e Current driver record and cover letter Certification form as described
in 5.809.02

X Mail check or money order made payable to Registration Fee Trust to: Driver Records, WisDOT, PO Box 7995, Madison, WI 53707-7985

[ VEHICLE RECORDS - List identifiers for vehicle/plate being requested (Limit 3)

“Year—

Make Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)

Current
Owner

History of

WI Plate or DisID e

.-—-"""’-_

O O

O a

/

O O

Non-Certified - Fee $5 ¢ Quantity

Consists of:
{record) summarizing record at time of
abstract, will include each record/owner for history

Copies of applications and other documents will be included
ONLY if specifically requested in the comment section below,

O

Quantity

Certified - Fee $10 each

Consists of:
» Current vehicle record and cover letter
¢ Cenrification form as described in 5,908.02

Mail check or maney order made payable to Registration Fee Trust to:

Vehicle Records, WisDOT, PO Box 7995, Madison, WI| 53707-7995

VEHICLE RECORDS TOTALDUE: $ 0 . 00

f,L DRIVER RECORDS TOTALDUE:$ 0 . 00

Please complete and sign page 2.

Page 10f2
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VEHICLE / DRIVER RECORD INFORMATION REQUEST (continued)
Wisconsin Department of Transportation MVv2896

Section C - Authorization Please check the statement below that allows you authorization to obtain personal information. Sign certification.

[ {we}lare authorized under the Federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act to obtain the identified records and personal information based on
the following:

D 1. Authorized for use, if the requester demoenstrates that they have oblained the written consent from the person about whom the information

pertains. This is not for DMV account hoiders.
E] a. | am requesting a copy of my own record.
D b. | am a parent or legal guardian of a miner child and am requesting a copy of his/her record.

[:| ¢. | am requesting the record of another person and have attached their written consent.

For use in connection with matters of motor vehicle or driver safety and theft; motor vehicle emissions; moter vehicle product alterations,

recalls, or advisories; performance monitoring of motor vehicles, motor vehicle parts and dealers; motor vehicle market research

activities, including survey research; and removal of non-owner records from the original owner records of mator vehicle manufacturers to

carry out the purposes of the Automaebile Information Disclosure Act, the Anti-Car Theft Act of 1882, and the Clean Air Act.

3. A government agency (federal, state, local or tribal) or employed by such, for the purpose of the government agency to carry out its

functions.

4. A federal, state, circuil, local, or tribal court, or employed by such, for the purpose of the court to carry out its functions.

A Wisconsin or out-of-state law enforcement agency, or employed by such, for the purpose of the law enforcement agency to carry out its

functions.

6. Authorized representative, agent, contractor, or employed by such, of a legitimate business and the vehicle/driving record being requested

will be used for normal course of business, but only to:

a. verify the accuracy of the personal information submitted by the Individual to the business:

b. if such information as so submitted is not correct or is no longer correct, to obtain the correct information, but only for the purposes of

preventing fraud by, pursuing legal remedies against, or recovering on a debt or security interest against, the individual.

Authorized for use in connection with any civil, criminal, administrative, or arbitral proceeding in any federal, state, circuit, local, or tribal court

or agency, or before any self-regulatory body, including the service of process, investigation in anticipation of litigation, and the execution or

enforcement of jJudgments and orders, or pursuant to an order of a federal, state, circuit, local, or tribal court.

8. Authorized for use in research activities and producing statistical reports, as long as the personal information Is not published, redisclosed, or

used to contact individuals.

Authorized representative, agent, contractor, or employed by such, of an insurer, insurance support organization or self-insured entity and

the vehicle/driving record(s) being requested will be used enly in connection with the following:

a. Claims investigation;

b. Anti-fraud activities;

¢. Rating or underwriting.

10. Authorized for use in providing notice to the owners of towed or impounded vehicles,

11, Authorized representative or owner of a licensed private investigative agency or licensed securily service and the vehicle/driving record is
being requested for the use of purposes permitted under the Federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act.

12, Authorized as an employer, or its agent or insurer for use in obtaining or verifying information relating to a holder of a commercial driver
license (COL).

13, Authorized representative or owner of a private toll transportation facility for use in the operaticn of the facility.

I O

O

0o

O 0O go

The Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) is enforced by the U.S. Department of Justice, which may seek civil and criminal penalties for improperly
obtaining, disclosing, or using personal information from a motor vehicle record for a purpose not permitted by the DPPA. In addition, private citizens
may also seek civil damages in Federal Court.

Comments: Please be specific when describing your request, for example, lien information, a complete history, current owner only, etc. Attach
additional pages If needed.

CERTIFICATION

| (we) certify that the information and statements on this request are true and correct, comply with the provisions of the Federal Driver's Privacy .
Protection Act and understand that the willful, unauthorized disclosure of infermation obtained from these records for a purpose other than stated on this
request, of the sale or other distribution of the information to a persen of arganization not disclesed in this request may result in penalties imposed under

Title 18 U.S.C. Section 2724,

X

(Reguester Signature) (Date Signed — m/dlyyyy)
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DJ-LE-250 (Rev. 10/24)
STATE OF WISCONSIN

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
DIVISION OF LAW ENFORCEMENT SERVICES PO Box 2688
Crime Information Bureau Madison, W1 53701-2688

Record Check Unit (608) 266-7314

WISCONSIN CRIMINAL HISTORY
SINGLE NAME RECORD REQUEST

A self-addressed, postage-paid envelope must accompany every inquiry. Ensure sufficient postage is included.
See next page for additional instructions and information. Please print legibly or type.

Requestor Type — Check Only One  Request Purpose — Check Only One Payment Type — Check Only One
O  Government Agency $12.00* X General Information O Billing Account #
*%p X General Public §12.00* O Public Housing
O  Nonprofit Org. $12.00* O  Caregiver — General (*Add $8 DHS Fee) (not available for Police Certificate)
O  Public Defender (Fee Exempt) O Child Daycare — Caregiver (*Add $3 DHS Fee)
SPD # Daycare search requires Facility # or X Amount Enclosed
O  Police Certificate ~ $20.00* Certifying Agency # $
(Police Cert, must include fingerprint card ) O Request Certified Results

Search for a Record on: (Please type or print legibly)

* Name: / /

(Last) (First) Middle)

* Sex: * Race: * Date of Birth: / /
MM ) YYYY

Other Identifying Data (Social Security Number, Maiden Name(s), Additional Names, etc.)

* Required Data
** P Return request to: (Include a self-addressed, postage-paid envelope)

Name: Waukesha County Courthouse Clerk of Courts Attn: Civil Division
Street: P.O. Box 1627 Phone:
FAX:

City, State, Waukesha. WI 53187-1627 .
Zip: E-mail:

FOR CIB USE ONLY Special Processing Instructions:




General Instructions

Use form DJ-LE-250 to request a criminal background check on a single individual. Use form DJ-LE-250A to request background
checks on multiple persons. Wisconsin Statutes 19.35(1) and 165.82 provide that any person or entity may request a criminal
background check. The subject of the inquiry may be any person. Wisconsin adult criminal history data held by the Crime
Information Bureau is public information. Wisconsin does not release juvenile information unless statutorily authorized.
The Wisconsin Criminal History Record Request must provide:
(1) Requestor Type. Check the box for your requestor type. If you are a nonprofit organization, you must include a copy of your

501(c)3 ruling from the IRS. If you are a state public defender, you must include your SPD number.

(2)  Request Purpose. Check the “General Information” box unless you need the special processing described below, Requests

received without a request purpose checked will be processed as “general information.”

Caregiver Background Check processing should be used by entities or individuals required to do caregiver background checks
under s. 50.065, and childcare entities under s, 48.685. The caregiver background check includes a Wisconsin criminal
background check, a license and registry check from the Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS) and a professional
credential check from the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS). The results of the caregiver
background check from DHS/DSPS are returned separately from the Wisconsin criminal history results. Child day care
providers with day care facility numbers [assigned by the Division of Children and Families (DCF)] or with certifying agency
numbers [assigned by the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development (DWD)] must check the

“Child Day Care” box and provide their facility or agency number. All other entities and individuals covered by the Caregiver
legislation must check the “Caregiver Background Check — General” box.

*% P (3) Payment Type. Wisconsin s. 165.82 requires CIB to charge a fee for background checks. If appropriate, include DHS Caregiver
fee in Amount Enclosed. If you have an account and wish to be billed, enter your account number. Account customers will be

billed monthly. A check or money order must accompany all other requests. Make checks payable to the Wisconsin
Department of Justice.

(4)  Enter the complete name, sex, race, and date of birth of the individual being checked. Entry of social security number is
optional, but please be aware that this number is one of the unique identifiers used by the Crime Information Bureau and by the
Department of Health Services. Social Security numbers help prevent incorrect matches.

(5) A self-addressed, postage-paid envelope must accompany every inquiry. Ensure sufficient postage is included. This form
will be returned and stamped “No Record” if there is no public criminal information on file at CIB. The form will be
accompanied by public criminal history information if a record is found. Please allow 10 business days for the CIB record check
and reasonable mailing time by the postal service. Do not provide an additional envelope for Caregiver results. General
Caregiver results will be returned to the address specified in the “Return request to™ section and Child Daycare results will be
returned to the address on file at DHS or DWD.

(6) “ »
¥ % P Mail requests to: Crime Information Bureau  Attn: Record Check Unit PO Box 2688  Madison, WI 53701-2688 < * *

165.82 CRIMINAL HISTORY SEARCH FEE. (1) Notwithstanding ss. 19.35(3) the Department of Justice shall impose the following fees, plus
any surcharge required under sub. (1m), for criminal history searches for purposes unrelated to criminal justice or to s. 175.35, 175.49, or 175.60:

(am) For each record check, except a fingerprint card record check, $7.00
(ar) For each fingerprint card record check requested by a governmental agency or nonprofit organizations, $15.00

(1m) The department of justice shall impose a $5 surcharge if a person requests a paper copy of the results of a criminal history search requested
under sub. (1).

(2) The Department of Justice shall not impose fees for criminal history searches for purposes related to criminal justice.

Requestor Type Category Definitions

Nonprofit Organization — An organization in which no part of the income is distributable to its members, directors or officers. Record
check requests submitted to the Crime Information Bureau by nonprofit organizations must include a copy of the organization's 501 (c)
(3) ruling from the Internal Revenue Service].

Governmental Agency — A federal, state, county or municipal governing body created by constitution, state, code, charter, ordinance,
rule or order and any formally constituted subunit or agency thereof. This category includes public school districts,

Any Other Requestor — Includes any individual, agency or organization that does not meet the definition of governmental agency,
nonprofit organization or a criminal justice agency involved in the administration of criminal justice.

Police Certificate — A fingerprint-based criminal history search most commonly needed for purposes of immigration or adoption.
This search is of Wisconsin criminal history records only. Searches for other states must be performed through each state or the FBI.
Please indicate any special processing instructions in the space provided.



