### **ENROLLED ORDINANCE 170-90**

### AMEND THE 2016 SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT BUDGET FOR THE EXPENDITURE OF SEIZED FUNDS TO PARTICIPATING AGENCIES IN FEBRUARY 2016

WHEREAS, Enrolled Ordinance 141-41 authorizes the Sheriff's Department "... to participate in the program to transfer federally seized property to local enforcement agencies," and

WHEREAS, the Sheriff's Department has such assets that had not been allocated during the 2016 budget process, and

WHEREAS, the Sheriff's Department has agreed to allocate a percentage of assets received to participating Metro Unit agencies.

THE COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF WAUKESHA ORDAINS that federal seized assets received and reserved in general fund balance be appropriated by increasing in the 2016 Budget General Fund Balance account by an amount not to exceed \$14,031 and increasing the Operating Expense appropriation unit by an amount not to exceed \$14,031 to allow for the distribution of funds to participating Metro Unit agencies in accordance with federal seized asset guidelines.

File Number: 170-O-093

#### FISCAL NOTE

## AMEND THE 2016 SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT BUDGET FOR THE EXPENDITURE OF SEIZED FUNDS TO PARTICIPATING AGENCIES IN FEBRUARY 2016

Enrolled ordinance 141-41 (1986) authorized the Sheriff's Department to participated in a federal program, which transfers forfeited assets (seized funds) to those state and local agencies that contributed directly to the seizure of that property. The Sheriff's Department receives funds from the Federal Government and acts as a trustee for a portion of these funds on behalf of participating Metro Drug Unit agencies. Federal guidelines require that these seized funds must be used to enhance law enforcement activities, not to supplant existing adopted budget appropriations.

According to Sheriff's Department staff, the Department annually distributes a share of Federal asset forfeiture seized funds received to participating Metro Drug Unit agency communities based on their participation status at the time of each seizure. Sheriff staff has determined that an amount not to exceed \$14,031 will be disbursed to Metro Drug Unit participating police agencies (this is an amount not to exceed and included an estimate of the 2015 fourth quarter interest allocation). The following participating agencies will received seizure fund revenue: City of Waukesha (\$3,670); City of New Berlin (\$2,706); City of Brookfield (\$2,685); Village of Menomonee Falls (\$2,706); City of Muskego (\$559); Village of Hartland (\$410); Village of Pewaukee (\$559); Village of Elm Grove (\$375) and Village of Eagle (\$361).

This ordinance results in no additional direct tax levy impact in 2016.

Linda G. Witkowski Budget Manager

Linda Withowski

02/02/2016

JE# 2016-0000808

File Number: 170-O-093

# AMEND THE 2016 SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT BUDGET FOR THE EXPENDITURE OF SEIZED FUNDS TO PARTICIPATING AGENCIES IN FEBRUARY 2016

Approved By:	Approved By:
Judiciary & Law Enforcement Committee	Finance Committee
PIM W	James C. Hernich
Peter M. Wolff, Chair	James A. Heinrich, Chair
Jun Batzko	Eric Highum
Absut Janel Brandtjen	Richard Morris
Michael A. Crowley	Larry Nelson
Kathleen M. Cymmings  Kathleen M. Cymmings	Duane E. Paulson
Hobert L. Kolb	Steve Whittow
Absent Carl Pettis	William J. Jaborowski
	/ //
The foregoing legislation adopted by the County Board of Supervisors of Waukesha County, Wisconsin, was presented to the County Executive on:	
Date: 3/23/14 , Medde	un Rauach
Date: 3/28/14, Medical Musich Kathleen Novack, County Clerk	
The foregoing legislation adopted by the County Board of Supervisors of Waukesha County, Wisconsin, is hereby:  Approved:	
Date: 2-25-2016, Faul Fram	
Paul Farrow, County Executive	

### WAUKESHA COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

(ORD) NUMBER-1700093 DATE-02/23/16 2 D. Zimmermann....AYE 1 R. KOLB.....AYE 4 J. BATZKO.....AYE 3 R. MORRIS.....AYE 6 J. WALZ.....AYE 5 J. BRANDTJEN....AYE 8 E. HIGHUM.....AYE 7 J. GRANT.....AYE 10 D. SWAN.....AYE 9 J. HEINRICH.....AYE 12 P. WOLFF.....AYE 11 C. HOWARD.....AYE 14 C. PETTIS.....AYE 13 P. DECKER.....AYE 16 M. CROWLEY.....AYE 15 B. MITCHELL.....AYE 18 L. NELSON.....AYE 17 D. PAULSON.....AYE 20 T. SCHELLINGER....AYE 19 K. CUMMINGS.....AYE 22 P. JASKE.....AYE 21 W. ZABOROWSKI....AYE 23 K. HAMMITT.....AYE 24 S. WHITTOW.....AYE 25 G. YERKE.....AYE TOTAL NAYS-00 TOTAL AYES-25

UNANIMOUS \_\_\_\_\_\_ DEFEATED\_\_\_\_\_\_

TOTAL VOTES-25