NOTICE TO GUESTS

EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES

Under the State Statute 97.623 (2), hotels are required to offer emergency assistance to people with disabilities

The Statute reads:

97.623 (2) Every hotel shall offer to every guest, at the time of registration for accommodation and of making a reservation for accommodation, an opportunity to identify himself as a person needing assistance in an emergency because of a physical condition and shall keep a record at the registration desk of where each person so identified is lodged. No motel may lodge any person so identified in areas other than those designated by the local fire department as safe for persons so identified, based on the capabilities of apparatus normally available to the fire company or companies assigned the first alarm. A person who does not identify himself as permitted in this subsection may be lodged in the same manner as any other guest. Violation of this subsection shall be punished by a forfeiture of not more than \$50 for the first violation and not more than \$100 for each subsequent violation.



Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection Division of Food and Recreational Safety

2811 Agriculture Drive, PO Box 8911
Madison, WI 53708 datcp.wi.gov

Dfs_frb_0111.pub 02/17

NOTICE TO GUESTS

EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES

Under the State Statute 97.623 (2), hotels are required to offer emergency assistance to people with disabilities

The Statute reads:

97.623 (2) Every hotel shall offer to every guest, at the time of registration for accommodation and of making a reservation for accommodation, an opportunity to identify himself as a person needing assistance in an emergency because of a physical condition and shall keep a record at the registration desk of where each person so identified is lodged. No motel may lodge any person so identified in areas other than those designated by the local fire department as safe for persons so identified, based on the capabilities of apparatus normally available to the fire company or companies assigned the first alarm. A person who does not identify himself as permitted in this subsection may be lodged in the same manner as any other guest. Violation of this subsection shall be punished by a forfeiture of not more than \$50 for the first violation and not more than \$100 for each subsequent violation.



Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Division of Food and Recreational Safety 2811 Agriculture Drive, PO Box 8911 Madison, WI 53708 datcp.wi.gov