

# WAUKESHA COUNTY COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

News Release Contact: Sarah Spaeth (262) 548-7001 Date: April 16, 2024

## RESULTS OF THE WAUKESHA COUNTY BOARD ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

Waukesha, WI – The County Board's Organizational Meeting took place on April 16. County Board Supervisors took the oath of office and elected a County Board Chair, Vice-Chair, Second Vice-Chair and two additional members that will serve as committee chairs.

Three new members joined the County Board: Steve Styza (District 1), Wayne Euclide (District 2), and John D. Leisemann (District 13).

## The election results are as follows:

## County Board Chair: James A. Heinrich

Heinrich has served on the County Board since 2007. He represents District 9 which includes portions of the City and Town of Brookfield. Heinrich served as chair of Land Use, Parks and Environment committee from 2012-14 and chair of Finance committee since 2014.

#### **County Board Vice-Chair: Keith Hammitt**

Hammitt served on the County Board from 2006-2008 and was re-elected to the County Board in 2012. Hammitt represents District 23 which includes portions of the City of Muskego and New Berlin. Hammitt served as Public Works Committee chair last term.

#### County Board Second Vice-Chair: Jacob LaFontain.

LaFontain was appointed to the County Board in 2020. LaFontain represents District 7 which includes the Village of Butler, portions of the City of Brookfield and Village of Menomonee Falls. LaFontain served as Judiciary and Law Enforcement Committee chair last term.

## At-Large Executive Committee Member: Larry Nelson.

Nelson was elected to the County Board in 2012 and represents District 18 which includes portions of the City of Waukesha. Nelson served as chair of Human Resources Committee from 2016-2020, and again last term 2022-2024.

#### At-Large Executive Committee Member: Gary J. Szpara.

Szpara was appointed to the County Board in 2022 to represent District 22. District 22 includes portions of the City of New Berlin. Szpara has served on Finance Committee, Land Use, Parks and Environment Committee and Health and Human Services Committee.

In the coming weeks County Board Chair Heinrich will make committee assignments and the board will resume its regular meeting schedule in May.

For more information please contact Sarah Spaeth, Chief of Staff, at 262-548-7001 or <a href="mailto:spaeth@waukeshacounty.gov">sspaeth@waukeshacounty.gov</a>.

###

515 W Moreland Blvd., AC130 • Waukesha, Wisconsin 53188-3878 Phone: (262) 548-7002 • <u>www.waukeshacounty.gov/countyboard</u>