Basic Guide to
Wisconsin Small Claims Actions

This guide is provided by the Wisconsin court system to give you general information about
Wisconsin small claims actions. Resources available in each county may be found at the link
below:

https://www.wicourts.gov/services/public/selfhelp/docs/countylegalresources.pdf

For additional information, please see the Pre-Judgment and Post-Judgment Basic Steps
Documents. These basic steps documents and any forms mentioned in this basic guide may be
obtained from the clerk of court or online at:

https://www.wicourts.gov/forms1/circuit.htm.

In addition to the guidance in this handbook, follow local court rules or procedures:
Wisconsin Circuit Court Rules

NOTICE: Small Claims laws change often. The small claims forms are intended to be useful in
many cases, but you may have to add or attach additional information as it applies to your case.
Talk to a lawyer if you are unsure whether these forms are the most appropriate for your
situation.

COURT STAFF CANNOT GIVE LEGAL ADVICE.

GENERAL INFORMATION ABOUT SMALL CLAIMS COURT

What is Small Claims Court?
Small Claims Court is a special court where disputes are resolved more quickly and
inexpensively than in other court proceedings. The rules in Small Claims Court also are
simpler and less formal. The person who sues is called the plaintiff. The person who is sued is
called the defendant.

What terms are used in Small Claims Court?
All terms are defined in the Glossary which can be found starting on page 14.

What kinds of cases go to Small Claims Court?
The most common types of small claims cases are:

e Claims for money: where the amount claimed is $10,000 or less, if the actions are:
e For money judgments only, or
e For garnishment of wages.

e Claims for tort/personal injury: where the amount claimed is $5,000 or less.

o Claims for eviction: regardless of the amount of rent claimed.

e Claims for replevin (return of property):
e Non-consumer credit actions where the value of the property claimed is $10,000 or

less;

e Consumer credit transactions where the amount financed is $25,000 or less.

Less common types of small claims cases include:
¢ Return of earnest money for purchase of real property
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o Action on an arbitration award for the purchase of real property
¢ Eviction action due to foreclosure

See also §799.01(1), Wis. Stats., the Legal Glossary (page 14 of this document),

e Pre-Judgment: Basic Steps for Handling a Small Claims Case for Eviction, (SC-6010V),
e Pre-Judgment: Basic Steps for Handling a Small Claims Case for Recovery of Money,
(SC-6020V), and

e Pre-Judgment: Basic Steps for Handling a Small Claims Case for Replevin (Recovery of
Property), (SC-6030V) for further information.

What is a tort or personal injury action?
A tort is a wrongful act that injures someone, where the injured person may sue the
person/business causing the injury for money damages. The injury may be to a person’s body,
property, business, reputation, or other interest. The act may be the result of carelessness
(“negligence”) or may be intentional. A tort is different from a breach of contract or a crime.

For more information about torts/personal injury actions, please see Appendix A: “Personal
Injury — Helpful Information” at the end of this document.

Who can sue in Small Claims Court?
Any person who is 18 years or older.

Do | have to have an attorney?
Whether to hire an attorney is your decision. Many people feel that they can handle their legal
matters without an attorney in Small Claims Court. When you represent yourself in court
without an attorney it is called “self-representation” or “pro se.”

Even if you do not intend to hire an attorney to represent you in Small Claims Court, you may
wish to contact an attorney for advice. An attorney may be able to advise you whether you
have a valid claim or defense, about the types of evidence you will need to prove it, and may
even be able to assist you in settling your case. If you cannot afford an attorney, there are
organizations that may be able to assist you.

Court staff MAY ONLY provide general information about court rules, procedures, practices,
and forms. Court staff cannot give you legal advice. For instance, this means court staff
cannot tell you which form(s) to use, or assist you in filling out the form, and cannot interpret
terms or court orders.

Try to settle first!

To avoid the time and expense of going to court, try to settle the matter first. Contact the other
party or the party’s attorney, discuss the situation, and try to solve the problem by an
agreement you can both accept. Even after your small claims suit is filed, you may still engage
in settlement negotiations with the opposing party. Don't be reluctant to compromise; even in
large civil lawsuits, more than 90% are settled prior to trial.
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Small Claims Pre-Judgment Flowchart
Even though each county may do things a little differently or call various hearings by different names,

there is a basic structure to how a small claims action will proceed in Wisconsin. The flowchart below
is a brief representation of the process.

BASIC STEPS FOR FILING A SMALL CLAIMS CASE

This flow chart gives a general outline of small claims proceedings in Wisconsin. Procedures may vary by county,
Please refer to the pre-judgment basic steps documents for additional information.
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Prepared by Wisconsin Court System's Pro Se Smali Ciaims Task Force 11/18/2007

However, there are different procedures for the various types of small claims actions that can be
filed. Also, there may be specific procedures that you must complete in some counties. Please
refer to:
e Pre-Judgment: Basic Steps for Handling a Small Claims Case for Eviction, (SC-6010V),
e Pre-Judgment: Basic Steps for Handling a Small Claims Case for Recovery of Money,
(SC-6020V),
e Pre-Judgment: Basic Steps for Handling a Small Claims Case for Replevin (Return of
Property), (SC-6030V),
e Pre-Judgment: Basic Steps for Filing an Answer to a Small Claims Complaint, (SC-6040V),
and
e Pre-Judgment: Basic Steps to Small Claims Service, (SC-6050V) for an overview of the
basic steps involved in completing these actions.
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| WOULD LIKE TO FILE A SMALL CLAIMS CASE.

Who do | sue?

It is important that you sue the right party. Naming the wrong party could result in the

dismissal of your case. To assist you, please see Appendix B: “Suing the Right Party” at the
end of this document.

Do | have to pay to file a Small Claims action?
Yes. You will have to pay the clerk of court a fee to file your Summons and Complaint, (SC-
500) form or Summons and Complaint (with Instructions), (SC-500I) form. This small claims
filing fee is set by state law (https://www.wicourts.gov/courts/circuit/docs/fees.pdf). This and
certain other fees may be charged against the other party if you win your case.

However, if you cannot afford the filing fee, you may complete the Petition for Waiver of Filing
Fees and Costs - Affidavit of Indigency, (CV-410A) and Order on Waiver of Filing Fees and

Costs, (CV-410B) form. If the court finds that you cannot afford to pay, the court may waive

the filing and service fees.

Where do | file my Small Claims case?

If you determine that your claim can be brought as a small claims case and have determined
the right party to sue, you will need to decide where you should file the small claims action.

Eviction actions. Actions for eviction should be filed in the county where:
¢ adefendant resides,
o the rented property is located.

Return of earnest money. Actions for the return of earnest money should be filed in
the county where:

e a defendant resides;
e the real estate is located, or
e the purchase contract was signed.

Replevins. Actions for replevin (return of personal property) should be filed in the
county where one of the following is true:

For Non-consumer claims:

e adefendant resides;

e the personal property is located, or
e the claim arose.

For Consumer claims:

e the customer resides or is personally served;

e collateral securing a consumer credit transaction is located, or

o the customer sought or acquired the property, services, money or credit.

Arbitration. Actions for the confirmation, vacation, modification or correction of an
arbitration award should be filed in the county where:

e adefendant resides;

e the real estate is located, or
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¢ the claim arose.

Other civil actions. In other civil actions where the amount claimed is $10,000 or less,
or for torts or personal injury actions where the amount claimed is $5,000 or less, the
action should be filed in the county where:
For Money judgments:
e For Non-consumer claims:

1. adefendant resides, or

2. the claim arose.

e For Consumer claims:
1. the customer resides or is personally served, or
2. the customer sought or acquired the money or credit which is the subject of the
claim or signed the document showing his or her obligation.

For Garnishment:

¢ the garnishee resides or is located;

e the summons in the original action was issued, or
¢ the judgment from the original action was entered.

How do | file the Small Claims Case?
Complete the Summons and Complaint, (SC-500) form or Summons and Complaint (with
Instructions), (SC-500I) form and make two (2) copies for each defendant. Take the original

and copies to the clerk of court’s office for filing and payment of the filing fee.

If you would like to file and manage your case electronically, please visit the Wisconsin Court
System website and look for eFiling. Use the Summons and Complaint, (SC-500) form or
(SC-5001) form to file your documents and pay your filing fee online.

| HAVE BEEN SUED IN SMALL CLAIMS COURT.

NOW WHAT DO I DO?

The first thing you should do is READ THE ENTIRE SUMMONS AND COMPLAINT.

DO THIS NOW!

The Summons and Complaint will tell you:

Who is suing me?
The person suing you is the person listed in the Summons and Complaint as the Plaintiff. You
are the Defendant. If the plaintiff has an attorney, the Summons and Complaint will also list
the attorney’s name and address.

Must | appear in court?
See the Summons (first page of the Summons and Complaint), which will tell you if you are
required to appear in person or can respond in writing. If you are required to appear in person,
the Summons will list the date, time and location.
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Why am | being sued?

The Summons and Complaint will tell you why the plaintiff is suing you. There are many

reasons a claim could be filed. Common examples are:

e If you are renting property, the plaintiff may be your landlord and claims you have not paid
your rent or have not lived up to your rental agreement, whether it is in writing or not.

 If you bought a car or some other item on credit, the bank or finance company may claim
you are behind on your payments.

e The plaintiff may claim you owe money.

¢ The plaintiff may claim he or she was injured or the plaintiff's property was damaged and it
is your fault.

What does the Plaintiff want from me?
The Summons and Complaint will tell you what the plaintiff wants from you. Some common
examples are:

e [f you are renting property, the plaintiff may want rent or money for utility bills that are not
paid, or money for damage to the property, AND may want you evicted (removed) from
the property.

¢ |f you bought something on credit, like a car, the plaintiff may want to get the car from you
plus the money you still owe after the car is sold.

¢ |[f the plaintiff claims you owe money, the plaintiff wants money from you.

What if | disagree with what the Plaintiff says?
If you don’t agree with what the plaintiff claims or if you don’t agree with what the plaintiff
wants from you, YOU MUST ANSWER THE COMPLAINT.

Counties may have different procedures to answer the Complaint.

See local court rules at: https://www.wisbar.org/Directories/CourtRules/Pages/Circuit-Court-
Rules.aspx.

You must answer the Complaint in writing, in person or both. If you need to appear in person
to answer the Summons and Complaint, the Summons and Complaint will tell you when and
where to appear. If you need to file a written answer, the Summons and Complaint will tell you
where to file the answer. See Pre-Judgment: Basic Steps for Filing an Answer to a Small
Claims Complaint, (SC-6040V) for more information.

IF YOU DON’T ANSWER THE COMPLAINT PROPERLY, A JUDGMENT MAY BE ENTERED
AGAINST YOU.

How do | answer the Complaint in person?
Some counties require you to answer the Complaint in person. If you have to answer the
Complaint in person, the Summons will state the court date and where and what time you

need to appear.

You must appear on time and it is recommended that you arrive at least 15 minutes early. If
you have any questions about where you should appear, go to the Clerk of Court’s office.

IF YOU FAIL TO APPEAR AT THE CORRECT LOCATION AND ON TIME, A JUDGMENT
MAY BE ENTERED AGAINST YOU.
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When your case is called, be prepared to say if you are or are not contesting the claim. You
may want to bring along with you some short notes to help keep yourself organized. If you

have a counterclaim and have not already filed it, you should file it at this time and give a copy
to the plaintiff.

How do | answer the Complaint in writing?
Some counties require you to answer the Complaint in writing. If you have to answer the
Complaint in writing, the Summons will state where to file your written answer. In your answer,
state why you disagree with the plaintiff and what defenses you feel you have to the plaintiff's
claim. You may use the small claims Answer and Counterclaim, (SC-5200V) form. The form
has step-by-step instructions on the left side to help you fill it out.

When you have completed your Answer and Counterclaim form, follow the instructions in the
Summons that tell you where to send the Answer.

YOU MUST SEND A COPY OF YOUR WRITTEN ANSWER TO THE PLAINTIFF.

IF YOU FAIL TO FILE YOUR WRITTEN ANSWER TIMELY AND PROPERLY, A JUDGMENT
MAY BE ENTERED AGAINST YOU.

If you would like to file and manage your documents electronically, please visit the Wisconsin
Court System website and look for eFiling (https://www.wicourts.gov/ecourts/index.htm).
Follow the steps provided to sign up. You can file the small claims Answer and Counterclaim,
(SC-5200V) form online.

What if | have a Claim against the Plaintiff?
If you believe that you have a claim against the plaintiff, you may file a counterclaim, which is
the legal term for a defendant’s claim against the plaintiff.

Use the Answer and Counterclaim, (SC-5200V) form to prepare your counterclaim. Clearly
describe your claim in your own words. Make sure to include any relevant dates and specific
facts. State the amount of money you believe you are owed and also state any other action
you are asking the court to take. Think carefully about how much your claim is worth. This is
important because the amount of your claim affects how you proceed with your counterclaim
and whether there will be a filing fee for the counterclaim (see below: “What if | want to
counterclaim for more than $10,000 or | want to file a tort or personal injury counterclaim for
more than $5,000?”).

File your counterclaim with the clerk of court in the same county where you are being sued by
the plaintiff. Each county can have different procedures for filing a counterclaim, so check with
the clerk of court to find out the specific county rules for filing a counterclaim. There is no fee
for filing a counterclaim unless your claim is for more than $10,000 or unless you file a tort or
personal injury counterclaim that is more than $5,000.

Prepare a copy of your counterclaim for each plaintiff so the clerk can file stamp them and
return them to you. You must then have those copies served on each plaintiff. Check local
court rules to see if you can serve the counterclaim on the plaintiff by mail or if you must use
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the sheriff or a process server. There will be a service fee if you use the sheriff or a process
server to serve the plaintiff. |f you have served the counterclaim on the plaintiff by mail,
complete the Affidavit of Mailing, (SC-5130V) form and file it with the clerk of court. If service
was done by the sheriff or process server, you must ensure an Affidavit of Service is filed with
the court. Follow the local court rules for attending the next court date.

What if | want to counterclaim for more than $10,000 OR | want to file a tort or

personal injury counterclaim for more than $5,000?
If your counterclaim demands more than $10,000, or if you want to file a tort or personal injury
counterclaim demanding more than $5,000, you will have to pay a filing fee to the clerk of
court. You must have the sheriff or process server serve the counterclaim on the plaintiff(s)
personally within 60 days of filing and file the proof of service with the clerk of court. Because
a counterclaim takes the case over the small claims dollar limit, the case may be transferred to
regular civil court for scheduling and further proceedings.

In addition to filing and serving the Answer and Counterclaim, (SC-5200V) form as explained in
the previous paragraph, you will also need to file and mail a Notice of Counterclaim, (SC-
5250V) form. This should be done on the same day you file the counterclaim. Once you have
mailed the Notice of Counterclaim to the plaintiff, complete the Affidavit of Mailing, (SC-5130V)
form and file it with the clerk of court.

Can | try to settle the case?
Yes. Some counties may have mediation services available to help you reach an agreement
with the other party. You may also contact the other party or the party’s attorney directly at any
time to try to reach a settlement agreement. See Stipulation for Dismissal- Eviction, (SC-
5300VA and Order for Dismissal- Eviction, SC-5300VB) form, or Stipulation for Dismissal -
Non-Eviction, (SC-5310VA and Order for Dismissal - Non-Eviction, SC-5310VB) form.

What if | don’t contest the plaintiff’'s claim and have no counterclaim?
If you do not contest the plaintiff's claim and have no counterclaim, it is not necessary to
appear in person or file a written answer. If you do not appear or file a written answer, a default
judgment will likely be granted against you and in favor of the plaintiff for what the plaintiff is
asking for in the Summons and Complaint, plus statutory court costs.
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MY CASE IS GOING TO TRIAL

PREPARING FOR AND PARTICIPATING IN A CONTESTED TRIAL

Refer to Local Court Rules

You must follow local court rules that may not be contained in this guide. Local court rules can
be found on the WI State Bar website at:

https://www.wisbar.org/Directories/CourtRules/Pages/Circuit-Court-Rules.aspx

or the courts website at: https://www.wicourts.qgov/scrules/index.htm.

Now do | need a lawyer?
Before attempting to handle a contested small claims hearing on your own, you should

consider seeking legal assistance. There are specific rules that must be followed in a small
claims hearing.

Preparing Your Case

Collect and preserve any documents or other evidence needed for trial.
Collect and preserve any documents or receipts from your dealings with the other party. Put
them in chronological date order. Evidence on cell phones, computers or other electronic
devices must be printed out or saved to a storage device to submit to the court. Making a
detailed timeline of all of the events involved (in date order) may help you present your case in a
more organized way. It is recommended that you bring copies of all documents for the
court and all other parties.

Determine if you will need witnesses.
Determine if you will need witnesses to testify at the trial. Witnesses are people who have
personal knowledge of the facts of your case. Friends and relatives may come voluntarily, but
business people, police officers and others with no personal interest in the outcome of your
case may not. In that case, if the witness lives in Wisconsin, you can require the witness to
come to court by having the witness served with a subpoena.

e Subpoena, (GF-126A) form and Certificate of Appearance (Subpoena), (GF-126B) form
can be obtained at www.wicourts.gov or without charge from the clerk of court’s office. All
Subpoenas must be signed by a court official.

e If you need the witness to bring documents or other evidence to the trial, you need to
specifically state what the witness is to bring on the Subpoena form.

e You will need to have the Subpoena served on the witness by the sheriff or a private
process server in a reasonable time before the trial.

¢ You will also need to serve with each Subpoena a check for the witness fee, which is
$16.00, plus $0.20 per mile the witness has to travel to and from the courthouse.

An expert witness is a person with special training, experience, or expertise in a field beyond the
knowledge of an ordinary person. For example, if your case involves defective merchandise or
faulty repairs, a full-time mechanic or repair person with several years of experience may qualify
as an expert. The expert witness can charge whatever he or she wishes for the testimony. The
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standard $16.00 witness fee does not apply to expert witnesses. If you win, the cost of the
expert witness, up to $300, can be added to any judgment.

Having the expert witness testify in person is almost always necessary. Merely repeating what
your expert told you will probably not be allowed. A written statement or affidavit from the
expert witness will not be sufficient.

Participating in Trial

How will the trial be conducted?
Small claims trials are conducted in an informal manner by a judge or commissioner. Parties
must treat each other with dignity and respect.

It is recommended that you and your witnesses show up at least 15 minutes early to the
assigned courtroom on the date and time of the trial. If there is a bailiff or court clerk present,
let him or her know that you have arrived. You should bring any documents related to the facts
of the case with you to present at trial. The judge or commissioner may refuse to consider
evidence or arguments that are repeated, irrelevant or otherwise inadmissible.

Each party bears the burden of proving his or her claim(s) “by the greater weight of the credible
evidence.”

The plaintiff presents his or her evidence first; then the defendant is able to present his or her
evidence. After swearing or affirming to testify truthfully, state the facts clearly and concisely.
Keep to the key facts and do not discuss side issues unless a question requires it. If you have
written documents, or other evidence to support your claim, show them to the judge or
commissioner and opposing party, explaining what it is and how it relates to your case. It is
recommended that you bring copies of each document for you, the judge, and all parties.

At the conclusion of the plaintiff's testimony, the judge or commissioner may ask some
questions. The defendant then has the right to cross-examine the plaintiff. When that is
completed, the plaintiff may call any other witnesses he or she has. The judge or commissioner
may ask questions and the defendant may cross-examine any of the plaintiff's witnesses.

The defendant follows the plaintiff and presents his or her case in the same way. The plaintiff
may cross-examine any of the defendant’s witnesses.

Following the presentation of the defendant’s evidence, the plaintiff may present rebuttal
evidence.

After all the evidence has been presented, the judge or commissioner will state the decision or
issue a written decision at a later date.
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| WON A SMALL CLAIMS ACTION.

Now what happens?
The clerk of court will enter a judgment in the court record; each party will receive notice of the
entry of judgment.

Can | recover my costs?
If you win a small claims case, the judgment will include statutory costs and fees. Statutory
costs and fees may include:
¢ the filing fee for the case;
e the mailing fee for the Summons and Complaint, or the service fees, if you had to have
your case served by the sheriff or a process server;
o witness fees, if the withess was subpoenaed and paid the statutory fee to attend, or
¢ limited attorney fees, if an attorney appeared with you in court.

Not all costs will be included in the judgment. For example, you cannot recover lost wages for
appearing in court or parking and transportation costs for coming to court. You also cannot
recover attorney fees for consulting with an attorney about your case, if that lawyer did not
formally appear with you in court.

How do | enforce the judgment?
If you are granted a money judgment, the other party will be required to complete a Financial
Disclosure Statement, (SC-506B) form and send it to you within 15 days of entry of judgment
unless they have already paid. If the other party does not complete the disclosure, you may file
a Motion and Request for Hearing on Contempt, (SC-507A) form and Order for Hearing on
Contempt, (SC-507B) form.

The court does not collect your judgment for you, but there are actions you can take to collect
your judgment. See:

e Post-Judgment: Basic Steps for Docketing a Judgment for Collection, (SC-6060V),

e Post-Judgment: Basic Steps for Handling a Small Claims Earnings Garnishment,
(SC-6070V),
Post-Judgment: Basic Steps for Handling a Non-Earnings Garnishment (SC-6071).
Post-Judgment: Basic Steps for Handling an Execution Against Property, (SC-6080V),
Post-Judgment. Basic Steps in Collecting on a Judgment for Money, (SC-6090V), and
Post-Judgment: Basic Steps in Collecting on a Judgment for Replevin, (SC-6100V).

If you are granted a judgment of $500 or more for damages arising out of a motor vehicle
accident, you can request that the clerk provide a certified copy of the judgment to the Division
of Motor Vehicles (DMV). In most instances, the DMV will then suspend the operating privilege
and all registrations of the debtor:
e Complete the Certificate of Judgment form (MV3158), available on the DMV website:
https://wisconsindot.gov/pages/global-footer/formdocs/default.aspx
e Provide the completed Certificate of Judgment form to the clerk, along with the required
fee.

The clerk will review the case information included on the form, then sign and affix the clerk’s
seal, and send to the DMV.
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Small Claims Post-Judgment Flowchart
Even though each county may do things a bit differently, there is a basic structure to the small
claims post-judgment process in Wisconsin. The flowchart below is a brief representation of
the steps one may take to enforce judgments.
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This flow chart gives a general outline of judgments in small claims cases in Wisconsin, Procedures may vary by county.
Please refer to the post-judgment basic steps document for additional information.
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| DISAGREE WITH THE OUTCOME OF THE SMALL CLAIMS CASE.

Can | appeal the decision?
If a commissioner made the decision in your case, you may request a trial before a judge. If the
commissioner made the decision at the hearing, you have 10 days from the hearing date to file a
demand for trial. If the commissioner issues a written decision, you have 15 days from the date of
mailing to file a demand for trial. You must complete the Demand for Trial and Instructions, (SC-
517) form, and file the form in the clerk of court’s office in the same county where the
commissioner heard your case. The party demanding the trial must mail a copy of the Demand for
Trial and Instructions to the other party within the time limits. The party filing the demand for trial is
responsible for providing proof that the form was mailed to the other party.
If a judge has made the decision in your case and you are dissatisfied with that decision, you may
appeal that decision to the Wisconsin Court of Appeals. The circuit court does not provide any
forms for appeals. The rules for filing an appeal are complex. On the Wisconsin Court System
website in the self-help center, you will find a publication entitled “Guide to Appellate Procedure
for the Self-Represented”.

e Clerk of the Wis. Supreme Ct. & Ct. of Appeals, Guide to Appellate Procedure for the
Self-Represented .
https://www.wicourts.gov/publications/quides/docs/proseappealsquide.pdf

¢ The State Bar’'s Appellate Practice Section offers an online Appellate Help Desk for
people who are representing themselves in a Wisconsin civil appeal.
https://www.wisbar.org/forPublic/INeedalL awyer/AppellateHelpDesk/Pages/Appellate-
Help-Desk.aspx

You may wish to contact an attorney about filing an appeal. There are strict time limits for filing an
appeal, so if you think you may appeal your small claims case do not delay in making that decision.

Can | reopen the Small Claims case?

e Service by mail not received:
If service of the Summons and Complaint was by mail, you never received it, and a judgment
was entered against you, you may petition the court to set aside the judgment. You must file
the petition within 15 days of receiving actual knowledge of the case or judgment. This option
is not available to you more than one year after the judgment was entered. See Petition to
Answer or to Reopen Small Claims Action with Mail Service, (SC-511A) form and Order on
Petition to Answer or to Reopen Small Claims Action with Mail Service, SC-511B) form.

e Improper Venue:
If a default judgment was entered against you and you believe the case was filed in the wrong
county, you may file a motion to reopen the case. This must be done within one year of entry
of the default judgment. If the court finds the venue was improper, it will reopen the case. See
Motion to Reopen Small Claims Judgment, (SC-515A) form and Order on Motion to Reopen
Small Claims Judgment (SC-515B) form.

e Default Judgment/Judgment of Dismissal:
If you have a good reason for missing court or failing to meet court requirements, you may file
a motion to reopen the case within 12 months after the judgment was entered. The court will
determine whether you have a good reason to reopen the judgment. If the court reopens the
judgment, you will be notified. See Motion to Reopen Small Claims Judgment, (SC-515A)
form and Order on Motion to Reopen Small Claims Judgment (SC-515B) form.
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SATISFACTION OF JUDGMENT.

How do | satisfy a judgment?
A judgment may be satisfied when it has been paid. If you have paid the judgment, the plaintiff
must sign the Satisfaction of Judgment, (GF-129) form at your request. You must make this

request directly to the plaintiff, not through the court. Plaintiff's failure to sign and file or return the
satisfaction within 7 days may result in an award of damages against the plaintiff.

If you wish the court record to reflect that the judgment has been satisfied, you must file the
Satisfaction of Judgment. There is a fee for filing the satisfaction. Once the satisfaction is filed,
the court record will reflect that the judgment has been satisfied.
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LEGAL GLOSSARY

Although small claims procedure is designed to be simple and easy to use, you will still come across
some legal words and phrases when going through the court system. If you need help, look at our
legal glossary to find out what some of these words and phrases mean.

ACTION

ADJOURN

ADVERSE PARTY
AFFIDAVIT OF NON-
MILITARY SERVICE
AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE
ANSWER

APPEAL

ARBITRATION

BUSINESS DAYS

CALENDAR
CALENDAR DAYS
CAPTION

CLAIM FOR MONEY

CLERK
COMPLAINT

CONSUMER

CONTRACT
COUNTERCLAIM

COURT COMMISSIONER
COURT TRIAL
CREDITOR
CROSS-EXAMINE
CUSTOMER

DAMAGES

DEBTOR
DEFAULT
DEFENDANT
DEFENSE
DISMISSAL

DOCKET
EMANCIPATION

EVICTION
EVICTION DUE TO
FORECLOSURE
EVIDENCE
EXAMINE
EXECUTION
EXEMPTION

A lawsuit.

To delay a hearing until a future time.

Party on the other side of the lawsuit.

Statement that, to the best of plaintiff's knowledge, the defendant is not now in the
military.

A new matter, which assuming the complaint to be true, constitutes a defense to it.

A statement by the defendant in response to the plaintiff's complaint.

A request that a higher court review and change the final decision in a case.

A form of alternative dispute resolution where an unbiased person or panel renders an
opinion as to responsibility for or extent of a loss.

Any calendar day except Saturday or Sunday and except the following business days:
New Year's Day, Martin Luther King Jr.’s Birthday, Washington's Birthday, Memorial
Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veterans Day, Thanksgiving and
Christmas, and that is not a legal or federal legal holiday.

A schedule of cases to be heard in court.

Any one of the seven days in a week.

The heading of a court paper, showing the court, county, names of parties and case
number.

A legal action in which a plaintiff argues that a defendant is indebted to the plaintiff for
an amount of money.

An administrative officer of the court.

The court paper that states why the plaintiff is suing and what plaintiff wants the court
to order.

An individual customer buying goods or services primarily for a personal, family or
household purpose.

An agreement.

A claim entered by a defendant as a response to or as a defense against an earlier
claim made against the defendant by the plaintiff.

An attorney authorized to conduct hearings and initial proceedings.

A trial in which the judge serves as the trier of fact.

A person who is owed money.

To question a witness for the opposing side in a hearing or trial

An individual buying goods or services.

The amount of money requested in a lawsuit to compensate the plaintiff for injuries to
person or property or for the defendant’s failure to perform a contract.

A person who owes money.

Failure to answer a complaint or appear for a hearing.

The person who is sued.

A reason why a claim in a complaint is not valid.

A court order terminating a case because the plaintiff has failed to appear in court or
state or prove a valid claim.

(see Judgment and Lien Docket)

When a child is no longer legally under a parent's control. In Wisconsin, a child is
emancipated when he or she turns 18 years of age or marries.

An action by a landlord to remove a tenant from the landlord’s property.

An action to remove a tenant whose tenancy is terminated as a result of a foreclosure
judgment and sale.

Objects, information or statements that demonstrate or prove something.

To ask questions of a witness or other party to a case in a court of law.

A legal procedure in which the sheriff seizes a debtor’s property to pay a judgment.
A law allowing a debtor to keep some property free from the claims of creditors.
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EXHIBIT

FEE
FORECLOSURE ON
RESIDENCE

GARNISHEE
GARNISHMENT
GUARDIAN AD LITEM

HEARING

JUDGMENT
JUDGMENT AND LIEN
DOCKET

JURY TRIAL

LIEN
NON-CONSUMER

NOTARY PUBLIC

PARTY

PLAINTIFF

PREJUDICE (with)
PRETRIAL CONFERENCE

PRO SE

PROOF OF SERVICE
REPLEVIN

RETURN DATE

RETURN OF EARNEST
MONEY

RETURN OF PROPERTY
(REPLEVIN)
SATISFACTION
SELF-REPRESENTATION
SERVICE

SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT
STIPULATED DISMISSAL

STIPULATION
SUBPOENA
SUMMONS

TORT

TRIAL

VENUE

A paper or thing shown to a court during a hearing and used as evidence.

A charge fixed by the law for the service of public officers.

Residential real property where there is a delinquency or default on any loan payment
or debt secured by or attached to the residential real property, including land contract
payments.

In garnishments, the party who owes money to the debtor and is ordered to pay it to
the creditor instead.

A proceeding after judgment authorizing the creditor to be paid from the debtor’s
wages or bank accounts.

An attorney appointed by the court to take legal action on behalf of a minor or an adult
not able to handle his or her own affairs.

The examination of a certain aspect of a case or the trial of a case in a court of law.
Final determination by the court.

An official list of court judgments.

A trial in which the jury serves as the trier of fact.

The legal right to keep or sell somebody else’s property as security for debt.

An individual or business customer buying goods or services for business reasons and
not primarily for a personal, family or household purpose.

An attorney or other official authorized to certify the signing of sworn documents.

A plaintiff or defendant in a case.

The party who begins a lawsuit.

Dismissal with prejudice means that the case cannot be filed again in the Circuit Court.
A meeting between the parties, sometimes including a judge or court commissioner, to
investigate settlement or narrow the disputed issues.

Latin meaning “for oneself,” i.e., without the aid of an attorney.

That the delivery of a legal document such as a writ or summons was accomplished.
A lawsuit seeking return of property.

The initial date at which the defendant must respond, answer, or appear in court. In
some counties, the plaintiff must also appear.

An action brought to recover money paid to a seller as a deposit for the purchase of
real property.

An action brought to recover personal property being held by someone else.

A notice from the plaintiff stating a defendant has paid the judgment.

(see Pro Se)

The delivery of the complaint, summons or other papers filed by one party to another
party.

An agreement reached without completing legal proceeding.

A court order dismissing the suit upon agreement of the parties. If the agreement is not
kept, the dismissal may be vacated and a judgment entered.

A legally binding agreement between parties.

A court document that requires a witness appear in court.

A court order that the defendant answer the complaint or appear in court at a stated
time.

A tort is a wrongful act that injures someone, where the injured person may sue the
person/business causing the injury for money damages. The injury may be to a
person’s body, property, business, reputation, or other interest. The act may be the
result of carelessness (called “negligence”) or may be intentional. A tort is different
from a breach of contract or a crime.

A formal examination of the facts and law in before a court of law to determine an
issue.

The county or counties in which a lawsuit may be filed and tried.
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Appendix A - Personal Injury — Helpful Information

I've been injured, now what? If someone else is more at fault for your injury than you are, you may
make a claim against that person or business and their insurance company, if any. The type of
accident and the cause of the accident may affect whether you are entitled to compensation, as in
the following examples:

Motor vehicle accidents: Fault or "negligence" is determined by traffic regulations and which
driver's carelessness contributed most to the accident and injuries, including your own conduct
such as failure to use seatbelts.

Commercial accidents (such as in stores): Injuries are compensable only if caused by an
unsafe condition that the owner should have known of, appreciated, and corrected before the
accident.

Home/farm/apartment/recreation injuries: Renters, owners, or residents may be found liable
for injuries they cause by negligent maintenance, oversight, or attacks by pets; however,
property owners who permit others to use their land without charge for recreational purposes
may be completely immune to any claim for unsafe conditions, however flagrant.

Government employees and premises: Injuries caused by negligent public employees or
unsafe conditions will be compensated only in limited circumstances and are subject to
stringent notice and claim requirements.

State, federal, and local governments are given broad latitude to determine most matters
involving public safety, including the design and maintenance of roads, parks, and
facilities.

Workplace injuries: Injuries at work generally are covered by worker's compensation benefits
which compensate for medical expenses, lost wages, and permanent impairments, without
regard to fault by anyone. If the accident was caused by someone other than the employer or a
co-worker, a fault-based claim can be made that could include damages for pain and suffering
in addition to the worker's compensation benefits.

Intentional injuries: Injuries inflicted on purpose by any means are not usually covered by the
guilty party's liability insurance, although the responsible party may be personally liable for such
harm.

Other accidents: More complicated rules determine if injuries caused by dangerous products,
the accumulation of ice or snow, faulty professional services, or public utilities will be
compensated. In addition, users of firearms, dog owners, and operators of restaurants, hotels,
and public transportation may be liable for injuries they cause because the law imposes special
responsibility for these hazards which your attorney can explain in more detail.

Reprinted with permission from the State Bar of Wisconsin consumer pamphlet, Answering Your Legal
Questions About Personal Injury. Find other consumer resources at www.wisbar.com.
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Pre-Judgment:
Basic Steps for Handling a Small Claims Case
for RECOVERY OF MONEY

This guide is provided by the Wisconsin court system to give you general information about
Wisconsin small claims actions. Resources available in each county may be found at the link below:

https://www.wicourts.gov/services/public/selfhelp/docs/countylegalresources.pdf

For additional information, please see the Pre-Judgment and Post-Judgment Basic Steps
Documents. These basic steps documents and any forms mentioned in this basic guide may be
obtained from the clerk of court or online at:

https://www.wicourts.gov/forms1/circuit.htm.

In addition to the guidance in this handbook, follow local court rules or procedures:
Wisconsin Circuit Court Rules

NOTICE: Small Claims laws change often. The small claims forms are intended to be useful in
many cases, but you may have to add or attach additional information as it applies to your case.
Talk to a lawyer if you are unsure whether these forms are the most appropriate for your situation.

COURT STAFF CANNOT GIVE LEGAL ADVICE.

[ ]1. Decide in which county you will file your case. Small Claims cases for recovery of money
may be filed in the county where the:
e claim arose;
e property that is the subject of your claim is located, or
o defendant (the party you are suing) lives or does business.

[]2. Fill outa Small Claims Summons and Complaint form. The general Summons and
Complaint, (SC-500) form or Summons and Complaint (with Instructions), (SC-500i) form has
step-by-step instructions on the left side. Once you have filled it out, you should make at least
two copies for each party you are suing and a copy for yourself.

[]3. Filethe Summons and Complaint. The Summons and Complaint must be filed and the
copies file stamped, and a filing fee paid to the clerk of court in the county where you are filing
your case.

[ ]4. Have each party you are suing served with a copy of the Summons and Complaint. For
the court to hear the case, each party must be provided with a copy of the Summons and
Complaint far enough in advance of the first court date or answer deadline. The requirements
for this service (delivery) are different in each county. Some counties require the documents
to be served by a sheriff or a private process server (“personal service”), while others allow
mail service by the clerk of court. See Pre-Judgment: Basic Steps to Small Claims Service,
(SC-6050V) form for additional information.

[]5. Complete a Declaration of Nonmilitary Service, (GF-175) form for each party you are
suing.
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[]6.

File your proof(s) of service and Declaration(s) of Nonmilitary Service with the clerk of
court. File the Declaration(s) of Nonmilitary Service and, if a sheriff or private process server
has served the other party, also file the proof(s) of service you received. File these
documents with the clerk of court at or before the first court date or answer deadline
according to local court rules.

For the first court date, follow the local court rules for attending. Some counties require
all parties to come to court. Other counties allow the other party to answer in writing and the
parties do not have to come to court. Follow the rules where your case is filed or your case
may be dismissed. https://www.wisbar.org/Directories/CourtRules/Pages/Circuit-Court-

Rules.aspx.

If there is a disagreement, the court will schedule a trial/hearing. Before the trial/hearing,
you may contact the other party to try to settle your case. Some counties require the parties
attend mediation. If you reach an agreement, put your agreement in writing and file it with the
clerk of court before the trial/hearing. You may use the Stipulation for Dismissal (Non-
Eviction), (SC-5310VA) form and Order for Dismissal (Non-Eviction), (SC-5310VB) form to do
this. If you have not reached an agreement before the trial/hearing, organize your paperwork
and evidence in support of your claim and make enough copies for the court and all parties.

If you have witnesses, arrange for them to attend. Practice what you are going to say. Make
sure to follow local court rules for filing documents or statements before the trial’hearing.

Attend the trial/hearing. Be on time and be polite. Don’t get emotional. Explain why the
court should give you what you are asking for. The court will review your evidence and listen
to your witnesses, if any. When the court makes its decision, listen carefully. If a
commissioner heard your case, any party may request a new trial before a judge. The
commissioner will give you instructions after your hearing. See the instructional packet, Basic
Guide to Wisconsin Small Claims Actions, (SC-6000V), for additional information about
preparing and participating at trial.

Collect and preserve any documents or receipts from your dealings with the other party. Put
them in chronological date order. Evidence on cell phones, computers or other electronic
devices must be printed out or saved to a storage device to submit to the court. Making a
detailed timeline of all of the events involved (in date order) may help you present your case
in a more organized way. It is recommended that you bring copies of all documents for
the court and all other parties.

. Complete any post-decision activities. If you are granted a judgment, you may have the

judgment docketed by paying a fee to the clerk of court so it becomes a lien on the other
party’s real property. The Court will enter an Order for Financial Disclosure, (SC-506A)
form and the other party will be required to complete Financial Disclosure Statement, (SC-
506B) form and send it to you within 15 days of entry of judgment unless they have already
paid the judgment. If the other party does not complete the disclosure, you may file a
Motion and Request for Hearing on Contempt, (SC-507A) form and Order for Hearing on
Contempt, SC-507B) form.

The court does not collect your judgment for you, but there are actions you can take to collect
your judgment. See Post-Judgment: Basic Steps Guide for Handling a Small Claims Earnings
Garnishment, (SC-6070V) and the Execution Against Property, (GF-115) form. You may be
required to obtain a sheriff's indemnity bond from your insurance company before the sheriff
will serve the execution. Contact the appropriate sheriff for further instruction.
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Pre-Judgment:
Basic Steps for Handling a Small Claims

Action for REPLEVIN (Recovery of Property)
A. Personal Property worth $10,000 or less;
OR
B. Consumer Credit Transactions with
$25,000 or less financed

This guide is provided by the Wisconsin court system to give you general information about Wisconsin small
claims actions. Resources available in each county may be found at the link below:

https://www.wicourts.gov/services/public/selfhelp/docs/countylegalresources.pdf

For additional information, please see the Pre-Judgment and Post-Judgment Basic Steps Documents.
These basic steps documents and any forms mentioned in this basic guide may be obtained from the clerk
of court or online at:

https://www.wicourts.qgov/forms1/circuit.htm.

In addition to the guidance in this handbook, follow local court rules or procedures:

Wisconsin Circuit Court Rules

NOTICE: Small Claims laws change often. The small claims forms are intended to be useful in many
cases, but you may have to add or attach additional information as it applies to your case. Talk to a lawyer
if you are unsure whether these forms are the most appropriate for your situation.

COURT STAFF CANNOT GIVE LEGAL ADVICE.

[] 1. Determine which type of replevin case to file and then decide in which county you will file

your case. Small Claims cases for recovery of property may be filed in any of three (3) places:
A. Personal Property worth $10,000 or less — the county where the

¢ claim arose,

e property is located, or

o defendant (the party you are suing) lives or does business.
B. Consumer Credit Transactions —the county where the

e consumer resides or is personally served,;

¢ collateral (property) is located, or

¢ consumer made the purchase or acquired the property.

(] 2. Fill out a Small Claims Summons and Complaint form or Summons for Consumer Replevin
form. Use the Summons and Complaint, (SC-500) form or Summons and Complaint (with
instructions), (SC-500i) form which has step-by-step instruction on the left side. Summons for
Consumer Replevins, (SC-516) should only be used for consumer replevin case types. If you are
filing a consumer replevin case, you must draft a complaint and attach it to the Summons. Once you
have filled out the appropriate form, you should make at least two copies for each party you are
suing and a copy for yourself.

[] 3. Filethe Summons and Complaint. The Summons and Complaint and all copies must be filed and
a fee paid to the clerk of court in the county where you are filing your case.

SC-6030V, 11/19 Pre-Judgment: Basic Steps for Handling a Small Claims Case for REPLEVIN (Recovery of Property)
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L] 4.

] s.
[] 6.

[]10.

[]11.

Have each party you are suing served with a copy of the Summons and Complaint, (SC-500)
form or Summons and Complaints for Consumer Replevins, (SC-516) form. For the court to
hear the case, each party must be provided with a copy of the Summons and Complaint far enough
in advance of the first court date. The documents must be served by a sheriff or a private process
server (“personal service”). See Pre-Judgment: Basic Steps to Small Claims Service, (SC-6050V)
for additional information.

Complete a Declaration of Nonmilitary Service, (GF-175) form for each party you are suing.

File your proof(s) of service and Declaration(s) of Nonmilitary Service with the clerk of court.
File the Declaration(s) of Nonmilitary Service and the proof(s) of service you received from the sheriff
or private process server. File these documents with the clerk of court at or before the first court date
according to local court rules.

Attend the first court date. All parties are required to attend the first court date. However,
DEFENDANTS may be allowed to appear in writing or by telephone if a local rule grants that
privilege. Follow the local court rules where your case is filed or your case may be dismissed. If the
court grants you a judgment, skip to number 11 below and file the necessary paperwork.

. If there is a disagreement, the court will schedule a trial. Before the trial, you may contact the

other party to try to settle your case. Some counties require the parties attend mediation. If you
reach an agreement, put your agreement in writing and file it with the clerk of court before the trial.
You may use the Stipulation for Dismissal (Non-Eviction), (SC-56310VA) form and Order for
Dismissal (Non-Eviction), (SC-5310VB) form to do this. If you have not reached an agreement
before the trial, organize your paperwork and evidence in support of your claim and make enough
copies for the court and all parties. If you have witnesses, arrange for them to attend. Practice what
you are going to say. Make sure to follow local court rules for filing documents or statements before
the trial.

. Attend the trial. Be on time and be polite. Don’t get emotional. Explain why the court should give

you what you are asking for. The court will review your evidence and listen to your witnesses, if any.
When the court makes its decision, listen carefully. See the instructional packet, Basic Guide to
Wisconsin Small Claims Actions, (SC-6000V), for additional information about preparing and
participating at trial.

If a commissioner heard your case, any party may request a trial before a judge. To request a trial,
complete and timely file a Demand for Trial and Instructions, (SC-517) form with the clerk of court.

Complete any post-decision activities. If you are granted a judgment of replevin and you want the
sheriff to help you recover the property, In order to do so, you must pay a fee to obtain a signed Writ
of Restitution, (SC-512) form from the clerk of court. Take the writ to the sheriff within 30 days. You
will be required to pay a service fee to the sheriff. You may also be required to provide a bond to the
sheriff. Contact the local sheriff's department for additional information.

SC-6030V, 11/19 Pre-Judgment: Basic Steps for Handling a Small Claims Case for REPLEVIN (Recovery of Property)
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This form is also available in Spanish.
(Este formulario esta disponible en espariol.)

Enter the name of the
county in which you are
filing this case.

STATE OF WISCONSIN, CIRCUIT COURT,
COUNTY

The plaintiff is the person
bringing the law suit.

Enter the Plaintiff’s name
and address. If two
plaintiffs are living at the
same address, then the
names and addresses may
be listed together.

For more plaintiffs, check
the “additional plaintiffs”
box and attach another
sheet with their names and
addresses.

If this is an Amended
Complaint, check the box.

Enter the case number
given you by the Clerk.

The defendant is the
person or business you are
suing. Enter the name(s)
and address(es) of the
defendant(s).

For more than two
defendants, check the
“additional defendants”
box and attach another
sheet with their names and
addresses.

On the far right: Check
one of the boxes to show
what type of small claims
case you are filing.

Note: The clerk will
provide the phone number
for the disability box.

Plaintiff:

First name Middle name Last name

Address

Address

City State Zip
[] See attached for additional plaintiffs.
-VS-

To: Defendant(s):

First name Middle name Last name
Address
Address
City State Zip

D See attached for additional defendants.

(] Amended

Summons and Complaint
(Small Claims)

Case No.

[ claim for money ($10,000 or less) 31001
[ Tort/Personal injury ($5,000 or less) 31010

[J Return of property (replevin) 31003
(] Eviction 31004
(] Eviction due to foreclosure 31002
[J Arbitration award 31006
[] Return of earnest money 31008

If you require reasonable accommodations
due to a disability to participate in the court
process, please call
prior to the scheduled court date. Please note
that the court does not provide transportation.

(] One or both parties require the services of an interpreter. Which party?
Complete and file the Interpreter Request (GF-149) form.

Which language?

Do not check either of
these boxes.

The clerk will check one
or both and circle “AND”
or “OR” according to local
court procedure.

The clerk will circle what
you need to do and will
provide the date, time, and
place to appear and/or
answer.

SUMMONS

To the Defendant(s):

When to Appear/File an Answer

You are being sued as described on the attached
complaint. If you wish to dispute this matter:

Date Time

] You must appear at the time and place stated.

Place to Appear/File an Answer

AND / OR (circle one, if applicable)

(] You must file a written answer and provide a
copy to the plaintiff or plaintiff's attorney on or
before the date and time stated.

If you do not appear or answer, the plaintiff may win this
case and a judgment entered for what the plaintiff is asking.

Note: Leave dates blank;
the clerk or plaintiff’s
attorney will enter them.

Clerk/Attorney Signature

Date Summons Issued Date Summons Mailed

SC-5001, 02/23 Summons and Complaint — Small Claims . 5
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Check the box for the type
of small claims case you
have filed.

See Basic Guide to
Wisconsin Small Claims
Actions (SC-6000V).

Briefly explain the facts
and why the court should
award you what you are
asking for.

For Eviction Actions: If
you are seeking money
damages, you must also
state that claim on this
form. If you do not know
the exact amount of money
damages yet, state that the
amount of money damages
cannot yet be determined.

If you need more room,
check this box and attach
additional sheets.

Check if you are the
plaintiff or the attorney.

COMPLAINT

Plaintiff's Demand:

The plaintiff states the following claim against the defendant(s):
1. Plaintiff demands judgment for: (Check as appropriate)

Claim for Money $

Tort/Personal injury $

Eviction
Eviction due to foreclosure
Return of Earnest Money

Oodo ogo

Return of property (replevin) (Describe property in 2 below.)
(Not to include Wis. Stats. 425.205 actions to recover collateral.)

Confirmation, vacation, modification or correction of arbitration award.

Plus interest, costs, attorney fees, if any, and such other relief as the court deems proper.

2. Brief statement of dates and facts:

(If this is an eviction action and you are seeking money damages, you must also state that claim on this form.)

] See attached for additional information.

defendant(s).

| am the [] plaintiff.
[ attorney for the plaintiff.

Provide copy of attachments for court and

Enter your or your
attorney’s name and date.

>

Print or type your name.
Enter your or your
attorney’s phone number.

An attorney must enter his
or her State Bar Number,
law firm and address.

Plaintiff

Attorney's Signature

Name Printed or Typed

Attorney's Name Printed or Typed

Address

Attorney's Address

Email Address

Attorney's Email Address

Telephone Number

Telephone Number Date

State Bar No (if any)

COPIES: For each person you are suing, make two copies of this signed original and any attachments, and bring them to the clerk of court.

SC-5001, 02/23 Summons and Complaint — Small Claims
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Filling out the Declaration of Nonmilitary Service

The Servicemembers Civil Relief Act is a federal law protecting military members as they enter
active duty. It helps servicemembers devote their energy to the nation’s defense by suspending
certain legal and financial proceedings. It may block the entry of default judgments in some cases.

Wisconsin Circuit Court Form GF-175, Declaration of Nonmilitary Service, is used when you want
the court to enter a default judgment in your favor if the defendant does not reply to your complaint
or does not appear in court. You will need to tell the court if the defendant is on active duty with any
branch of military service.

If you have personal knowledge relevant to the defendant’s military service:

You can fill out the declaration if you can truthfully provide the court with enough information to
conclude that the defendant is not on active duty in the military service. Here are some
examples of information that the court might be willing to consider in reaching its decision:

¢ | know the defendant personally and s/he has never given any indication that s/he is in
the military service.

¢ | called the defendant, who informed me on [date] that s/he is not in the military service.

e | see this person regularly and therefore believe she/he is not on active duty.

If you do not have personal knowledge about the defendant’s military service:

If you have the defendant’s social security number or birth date: The Department of
Defense has a website to help you find out whether the defendant is on active duty in the
military service. They have information for all branches of the United States military service and
for the Wisconsin Army and Air National Guard. The website is found at
https://www.dmdc.osd.mil/scra/owa/home.

You must provide last name, first name, and either social security number or birth date. If you
have the defendant’s social security number, the website will be able to confirm the defendant’s
military status. If you have only the birth date, the website might or might not be able to confirm.
If you don’t have either one, you will not be able to use the website.

If the defendant is in the military service, the website will provide the beginning date of active duty
status. If the defendant is not, it will provide a certificate saying that the defendant is not known to
be in the military service. You can print this certificate and submit it with your affidavit.

NOTE: The Department of Defense frequently changes its website procedures. If you have
trouble accessing the website, check the Department of Defense, Defense Manpower Data
Center, website at http://www.defenselink.mil/faq/pis/PCO9SLDR.html.

If you do not have the social security number: If you do not have the defendant’s social
security number or birth date, it may be very difficult for you to find out if the defendant is on
active military duty. If you have tried the Department of Defense website without success, you
may check the box on the GF-175 that indicates you are unable to verify the defendant’s military
status. Describe efforts made.

This information was updated on 03/20/2017.
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STATE OF WISCONSIN, CIRCUIT COURT, COUNTY

Plaintiff/

Pe;itione" Declaration of Nonmilitary Service
-VS-

Defendant/ Case No.

Respondent:

[, the undersigned, declare that:
1. | am the [] plaintiff/petitioner or [] plaintiff's/petitioner’s attorney in this case.

2. This declaration is made for the purpose of obtaining a default judgment against the above named
defendant/respondent.

[] 3. |Ibelieve the defendant/respondent is not on active military duty at this time because:

(Choose one)
[J 1 know the defendant/respondent personally and s/he has never given any indication that s/he is in
service with the United States military or National Guard.

(] | contacted the defendant/respondent, who informed me on [Date] that s/he is not on
active duty at this time.

[] I see the defendant/respondent regularly and therefore believe s/he is not on active duty at this time.

(] Other personal knowledge:

[] 4. |obtained a certificate from the United States Department of Defense website showing that the defendant/
respondent []is []is not on active duty status. This certificate is attached.

(] 5. | have attempted to determine military status but do not have sufficient information. | have no reason to
believe s/he is on active duty at this time. Describe efforts made:

Verification: Under penalty of perjury, | state that the above declaration is true, except as those matters stated upon
information and belief, and as to those matters, | believe them to be true.

| am the: [] plaintiff/petitioner.
(] attorney for the plaintiff/petitioner.

Plaintiff/Petitioner

Name Printed or Typed of Plaintiff/Petitioner

Address

Email Address

Telephone Number Date

Plaintiff s/Petitioner's Attorney

Name Printed or Typed of Plaintiff s/Petitioner's Attorney

Address
Email Address Telephone Number
Date State Bar No. (if any)
GF-175, 11/19 Declaration of Nonmilitary Service 15 U.S.C. §3931, 50 U.S.C. §3912 and §321.62, Wisconsin Statutes
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