Make an appointment with the County Clerk's office - 262-548-7010
What to bring:
(any documents not in English or Spanish must be translated)
* Proof of Identification - Both parties must bring some form of identification. The easiest way to prove your identification is with a valid Wisconsin Driver's license, ID, and Passport.
* Proof of Residency - Both applicants need to provide documents showing proof of current address. A current driver's license, utility bill, mortgage statement may be used. Applicants getting married in Wisconsin may apply at any County Clerk's office throughout the state.
* Social Security Numbers - Both parties must provide their social security numbers in order to obtain a marriage license if one has been issued.
* Birth Certificates - All applicants must bring in a certified copy of their birth certificate from the Register of Deed's office in the county where they were born (which will have a raised or colored seal on it.) Photocopies or hospital certificates will not be accepted.
* Divorce Papers/or Certified Death Certificates - If an applicant has been married before, they must bring a file stamped copy of the Divorce Judgment, Annulment papers or certified death certificate from their last marriage. If the marriage ended in divorce, the divorce must be final for at least 6 months.
* Date of Ceremony - Wedding date must be set with your officiant, Judge or Court Commissioner before applying for your license.
* Officiant - You will need to know the name, address and telephone number of the person performing your wedding ceremony.
How long do appointments take:
If you have all your paperwork required, the normal time will take about 20 - 30 minutes. Remember, to book your appointment in advance.
When should I apply:
Application should be at least 4 days before the wedding (due to the three day waiting period), but not more than two months before the ceremony. The three day waiting period may be waived upon approval of the County Clerk, an additional $25 fee applies.
* A penalty of not less than $100 nor more than $1000 or imprisonment of not more than 1 year or both to any person who knowingly gives false information when applying for a marriage license.