Waukesha County


Much of the county board’s work is conducted through the board's seven standing committees. The executive, finance and human resources committees deal with administrative policy matters. The other committees are concerned with policy matters affecting public services. Committees review ordinances, resolutions, budgets and reports that may be forwarded to the board for approval.  

Executive committee: The committee membership consists of the County Board Chair and the six standing committee chairs. The committee oversees the county's five year Capital Plan, Federated Library System, UW-Extension, County Executive appointments, Internal Audit and state and federal legislative matters. 

Finance committee:  Oversees the Department of Administration, County Treasurer and reviews the annual county budget submitted by the County Executive

Health and Human Services committee: Oversees the Department of Health and Human Services including its nine divisions: Administrative Services, Intake Support Services, Children and Family Services, Adolescent and Family Services, Clinical Services, Public Health, Criminal Justice Collaborating Council, Veterans Services and Aging and Disability Resources Center 

Human Resources committee: Oversees the departments of the County Board, County Executive, Corporation Counsel and County Clerk 

Land Use, Parks and Environment committee: Oversees the Register of Deeds and the Department of Parks and Land Use which includes the county park system, golf courses, planning and zoning, land and water conservation, environmental health, community development and recycling 

Judiciary and Law Enforcement committee: Oversees the departments of Sheriff, Medical Examiner, District Attorney, Emergency Preparedness and Clerk of Courts

Public Works committee: Oversees the Department of Public Works which includes highway and engineering services, airport operations and transit services