Waukesha County

There are 25 members of the Waukesha County Board of Supervisors, elected to two year terms in even numbered years from separate geographic districts with a population of approximately 15,596 per district. From its members the board elects a chairperson, first vice-chairperson and second vice-chairperson as officers of the county board. The county board is the legislative branch of Waukesha County government, guiding the direction of the county by setting policy. The County Board of Supervisors is authorized in the Wisconsin Statutes (Chapter 59) to exercise powers for a wide variety of local government activities. 

Supervisors set policy by establishing plans, approving ordinances, resolutions and reviewing the annual budgets. Policy can best be described as the “what” and “why”, for instance if an activity will be funded and how it will benefit the public. 

Its most important legislative activity focuses on reviewing and approving an annual Waukesha County budget as proposed by the County Executive.  As part of the budget process, the board, with the leadership of its Finance Committee, reviews operations and programming for all departments. The review determines what services will be provided, how they will be funded and at what level they will be funded.  

The 2018 Budget was passed unanimously by the County Board. Pictured here left to right: Supervisors Cummings, Howard, Crowley, Decker, Wood, County Executive Farrow, Supervisors Michalski, Heinrich, Swan and Paulson

The Waukesha County Board in 1960 standing in front of the newly constructed Courthouse