Waukesha County

What areas are in the County's zoning jurisdiction?

The County's jurisdictional area includes all of the Town of Oconomowoc and all of the Town of Ottawa, as well as the Shoreland and/or Floodland areas (1,000 feet from a lake or pond and/or 300 feet from any other navigable body of water - streams, ditches, etc, or the floodplain whichever is greater) of the Towns of Brookfield, Delafield, Eagle, Genesee, Lisbon, Merton, Mukwonago, Vernon and Waukesha. The County's zoning jurisdiction does not include cities or villages. However, it should be noted that lands formerly under the County's Shoreland Zoning Jurisdiction that have been annexed by a City or Village after May 7, 1982, are required to continue to comply with the County's Shoreland regulations unless the City or Village in which it is now located adopts an Ordinance at least as restrictive as the County's Shoreland Ordinance. You should contact the appropriate municipality for their zoning requirements Municipal Contacts. If you have a question as to whether or not your property is within the County's zoning jurisdiction, please contact the Planner of the Day at (262) 548-7790 with your tax key number and we will assist you.

515 W. Moreland Blvd. Room AC 230, Waukesha, WI 53188
Business Hours: M-F, 8:00 am - 4:30 pm (excluding Holidays)
Phone: (262) 548-7790 | Fax: (262) 896-8071
Office Location Map