Waukesha County

 

Public Health Services

Contact Us

Dept. of Health and Human Services
Address: 514 Riverview Avenue
Waukesha WI, 53188
Phone: (262) 896-8430
Fax: (262) 970-6670
TollFree: 1-800-540-3620
Email: hhs@waukeshacounty.gov

The Nurse Call Center is available by phone:
Mon., Wed., Thurs., & Fri. (8 AM – 4:30 PM)
Extended hours on Tuesdays (10:30 AM – 6:30 PM)
Nurse Walk-in Services are available:
Mon., Wed., Thurs., & Fri. (8 AM – 4:15 PM)
Tuesdays (10:30 AM – 6:30 PM)
WIC Walk-in Benefit Pick up is available:
Mondays (8:15 AM – 4 PM)
Tuesdays (3 – 6:30 PM)
Fridays (8:30 – 11:30 AM)

If you are experiencing a medical emergency, please contact a medical professional or call 911.

The Public Health Division will be closed to the public for 2018 holiday observances on the following dates:

  • LABOR DAY will be observed Monday, September 3, 2018
  • THANKSGIVING DAY and THE DAY AFTER THANKSGIVING will be observed Thursday, November 22, 2018, and Friday, November 23, 2018
  • CHRISTMAS EVE and CHRISTMAS DAY will be observed Monday, December 24, 2018, and Tuesday, December 25, 2018
  • NEW YEAR'S EVE and NEW YEAR'S DAY (2018-2019) will be observed Monday, December 31, 2018 and Tuesday, January 1, 2019

 

MUMPS


Mumps is a contagious disease that spreads easily from person to person. Mumps infection can lead to serious complications, such as hearing loss. Although mumps is rare, infections can still happen in places where people are in close contact with each other such as schools, colleges, and camps. The mumps virus is spread in saliva droplets when an infected person is coughing, sneezing or sharing utensils with other people. There is no treatment for mumps. Vaccination is the first line of defense against the mumps virus. 

The Waukesha County Public Health Division is working with schools to encourage proper MMR vaccination among their student population. As part of the childhood immunization program the first dose of MMR vaccine is given between 12 – 15 months of age and the second dose before entering school, at 4 – 6 years. The Wisconsin Immunization Law requires students in pre-K (ages 2 – 4) to have 1 dose of MMR recorded; students in 5K through 12th grade are required to have 2 doses of MMR on file.

When a mumps exposure occurs in the school, the Waukesha County Public Health Division will work with school personnel to manage cases and communicate with parents regarding mumps exposure and education. Students without proof of age-appropriate vaccinations will be isolated from attending school beginning day 12 – 25 after exposure.  

Mumps Information from Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS)

Mumps Fact Sheet:

DHS - English Version

DHS - Spanish Version

Mumps School Template Letter (English)

Disease Specific Information Home Page