Waukesha County


Public Health Banner


Measles is a highly contagious airborne virus that can quickly spread to others in a school setting. Measles is the most deadly of all childhood rash/fever illnesses and there is no treatment. However, CDC considers the MMR vaccine safe and highly effective. Assuring adequate MMR vaccinations is the best way to prevent measles.

In response to the recent multi-state increase in measles cases, the Waukesha County Public Health Division is working with schools to encourage proper MMR vaccination among their student population. As part of the childhood immunization program the first dose of vaccine is given between 12 – 15 months of age and the second dose before entering school, at 4 – 6 years. The Wisconsin Immunization Law requires students in pre-K (ages 2 – 4) to have 1 dose of MMR recorded; students in 5K through 12th grade are required to have 2 doses of MMR on file.

Additionally, it is important to understand that in the event that a measles exposure would occur at your school, all students not fully vaccinated with MMR will not be allowed to attend school from day 7 – 21 after exposure. 

Measles Information from Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS)

Measles Fact Sheet:

DHS - English Version

DHS - Spanish Version

Disease Specific Information Home Page


Public Health Services

Contact Us

Dept. of Health and Human Services
Address: 514 Riverview Avenue
Waukesha WI, 53188
Phone: (262) 896-8430
Fax: (262) 970-6670
TollFree: 1-800-540-3620
Email: hhs@waukeshacounty.gov

The Nurse Call Center is available by phone:
Mon., Wed., Thurs., & Fri. (8 AM – 4:30 PM)
Tuesdays (10:30 AM – 6:30 PM)
Walk-in Clinic Nurse Services are available:
Mon., Wed., Thurs., & Fri. (8 AM – 4 PM)
Tuesdays (10:30 AM – 6:30 PM)
WIC Walk-in Benefit Pick up is available:
Mondays (8:15 AM – 4 PM)
Tuesdays (3 – 6:30 PM)
Fridays (8:30 – 11:30 AM)

If you are experiencing a medical emergency, please contact a medical professional or call 911.

The Public Health Division will be closed to the public for 2018 holiday observances on the following dates:

  • CHRISTMAS EVE and CHRISTMAS DAY will be observed Monday, December 24, 2018, and Tuesday, December 25, 2018
  • NEW YEAR'S EVE and NEW YEAR'S DAY (2018-2019) will be observed Monday, December 31, 2018 and Tuesday, January 1, 2019