
Payment for Services: Mental Health Center Inpatient Service 2013 
Waukesha County Department of Health and Human Services 
 
Inpatient Services 
 
When you receive inpatient services at the Waukesha County Mental Health Center (either as an 
emergency detention or voluntary hospitalization), you will be charged for services and are 
responsible for the full cost. 
 
We will bill your insurance, HMO, Medicare, Medicaid (Forward Health) or Badger Care HMO 
coverage. However, you may be responsible for whatever part of your services your insurance 
does not cover. 
 
Please note:  Medicaid (Forward Health/Medical Assistance) does not cover services at the 
Waukesha County Mental Health Center for persons 21 to 64 years of age. 
 
If you have no insurance coverage, you are responsible for the full cost of inpatient services. If 
you provide the necessary financial information, you may make monthly payments according to 
a payment schedule determined by a Fiscal Account Clerk. 
 
Payment Schedules 
 
When you receive services at the Waukesha County Mental Health Center, a Fiscal Account 
Clerk from the Billing Unit of the Waukesha County Department of Health and Human Services 
will interview you. You will need to provide: 
 

1. Personal and family information 
2. Third party payer information (insurance) 
3. Employment & income tax information 

 
This information is required to determine a payment amount. (A minimum payment of $15.00 
per month is requested for all inpatient services). 
 
If your financial situation changes or the size of your family changes, your monthly payment 
amount will be recalculated. 
 
We will make every effort to work out extended or special payment plans if you have difficulty 
making the monthly payment determined by the Fiscal Account Clerk from the Billing Unit.  
Additional information will be requested and reviewed by a Waukesha County Collection 
Specialist to provide this service. 
 
Payment for services is an obligation established by law.  The primary statutes that provide 
Wisconsin's fee system are §§ 46.03(18) and 46.10.  The Uniform Fee System is further specified 
in the Wisconsin Administrative Code, Chapter DHS 1 of the Department of Health Services. 
 



Billing Rates 
 
Effective for Dates of Service: January through December 2013 
 Inpatient Room and Board   $901.00/day 
 Professional Component      $364.60/hour 

 
If you have questions: 
 
Call (262) 548-7697 or (262) 548-7955 
 
Write: 
Waukesha County DH&HS 
Billing Unit 
500 Riverview Avenue 
Waukesha, WI  53188 
 


