• Immunization Program

    Waukesha County Public Health Division provides immunizations to people of all ages on a walk-in basis no appointment is needed. These immunizations are available at the Health & Human Services building, Public Health entrance, on Mon., Wed., Thurs., & Fri. (8 AM – 4:30 PM) with extended hours on Tuesdays (8 AM – 6:30 PM). The Public Health Division also offers immunizations if traveling internationally through scheduled International Travel Clinics (call 262-896-8430 for an appointment or more information).

    Important Vaccination Guidelines

    If your child is insured, please make an appointment with your primary care provider for vaccinations.

    If your child is Vaccines for Children (VFC) eligible, you can visit the Public Health Division clinics for vaccinations.

    Who is VFC eligible?

    Children through 18 years of age who are:

    • Medicaid eligible or enrolled
    • Uninsured
    • American Indian or Alaska Native
    • Underinsured (has health insurance, but the coverage does not include all vaccines or only covers selected vaccines. Speak with your private insurance company to check if your plan covers vaccines.)

    Immunization Information

    What to Bring to Immunization Clinics:

    • All written immunization records must be brought to each clinic.
    • The parent or legal guardian must be present or sign for children under age 18 on Public Health Division forms.

    Immunize on Schedule:
    Immunizing children is one of the best ways to keep them healthy. Since childhood diseases are especially dangerous for infants, it is important to start immunizations on time, usually at birth or 2 months. Children need 80% of their vaccinations in the first 2 years of life. This usually takes 5 visits to a health care provider.

    Keep Immunization Records:
    Parents should keep their own copy of an up-to-date immunization record even though the doctors and public health clinics also keep them. Always take an up-to-date record to every doctor and public health clinic visit; records prevent unnecessary immunizations.

    The Wisconsin Immunization Law:
    Wisconsin Immunization Law requires children in licensed day care centers and students through grade 12 to be immunized against certain diseases. Students must provide dates (month, date, and year) of immunization upon admission to school, or be subject to exclusion or legal action. Parents may be fined up to $25 per day for non-compliance with the law. Waivers are available for medical, religious, or personal conviction.

    Additional Information
    The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention National Immunization Program
    The Immunization Action Coalition

Connect with us! Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr

Waukesha County 2014 Acceptable Use Policy | Legal Notices | Privacy