

WAUKESHA COUNTY BOARD MEETING 1st Meeting, 177th Year of the Waukesha County Board of Supervisors Tuesday, April 19, 2022 – 7:00 p.m. Waukesha County Courthouse – Room 350

CONVENE MEETING

Call to order: Chairman Decker called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Chairman Decker led the Board in the Pledge of Allegiance and called for a moment of silent prayer.

Roll Call: Supervisors Weil, Morris, Batzko, Grant, Walz, LaFontain, Michalski, Heinrich, Thieme, Howard, Decker, Mommaerts, Kolb, Crowley, Meier, Nelson, Enriquez, Schellinger, Gaughan, Wysocki, Hammitt, Bangs, and Johnson were present. Supervisors Foti and Wolff were absent.

Administration of the Oath of Office: Chief Judge Jennifer R. Dorow, Circuit Court Branch Two, Waukesha County, Wisconsin, administered the Oath Office to all Supervisors present. Supervisors were sworn in to serve the 177th and 178th year of the Waukesha County Board of Supervisors.

Announcement of Votes Needed: Chairmen Decker announced that for the Organizational meeting twelve (12) votes were needed to elect officers. Balloting for the County Board Chair, Vice Chair and Second Vice Chair would be by secret vote. Balloting for the Election of At-Large Executive Committee Members would be recorded in the meeting minutes.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS TO VACANCIES OF OFFICES OF THE WAUKESHA COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

County Board Chair: Supervisor Decker

- Informal Vote: Supervisor Decker received twelve (12) votes; Supervisor Schellinger received eleven (11) votes.
- First Formal Vote: Supervisor Decker received twelve (12) votes; Supervisor Schellinger received eleven (11) votes. Supervisor Decker having attained twelve votes, was named Chair.

County Board Vice Chair: Supervisor Hammitt

- Informal Vote: Supervisor Hammitt received nine (9) votes, Supervisor Heinrich received ten (10) votes, Supervisor LaFontain received one (1) vote, Supervisor Nelson received one (1) vote, Supervisor Schellinger received two (2) votes.
- o First Formal Vote: Supervisor Hammitt received eleven (11) votes, Supervisor Heinrich received eleven (11) votes, Supervisor Nelson received one (1) vote.
- Second Formal Vote: Supervisor Hammitt received twelve votes (12), Supervisor Heinrich received eleven (11) votes. Supervisor Hammitt, having attained twelve votes, was named First Vice Chair.

County Board Second Vice-Chair: Supervisor Heinrich

- Informal Vote: Supervisor Crowley received two (2) votes, Supervisor Grant received two (2) votes, Supervisor Heinrich received six (6) votes, Supervisor LaFontain received three (3) votes, Supervisor Nelson received five (5) votes, Supervisor Schellinger received four (4) votes, Supervisor Walz received one (1) vote.
- First Formal Vote: Supervisor Crowley received one (1) vote, Supervisor Grant received one (1) vote,
 Supervisor Heinrich received six (6) votes, Supervisor LaFontain received four (4) votes, Supervisor
 Nelson received five (5) votes, Supervisor Schellinger received six (6) votes.
- Second Formal Vote: Supervisor Heinrich received eight (8) votes, Supervisor LaFontain received four (4) votes, Supervisor Nelson received four (4) votes, Supervisor Schellinger received seven (7) votes.
- Third Formal Vote: Supervisor Heinrich received eleven (11) votes, Supervisor LaFontain received two (2) votes, Supervisor Nelson received one (1) vote, Supervisor Schellinger received nine (9) votes
- Fourth Formal Vote: Supervisor Heinrich received twelve (12) votes, Supervisor LaFontain received one (1) vote, Supervisor Schellinger received ten (10) votes. Supervisor Heinrich, having attained twelve votes, was named Second Vice Chair.

ELECTION OF AT-LARGE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERS

At-Large Executive Committee Member: Supervisor Nelson

- o Informal Vote: Supervisor Crowley received two (2) votes (Crowley, Decker), Supervisor Grant received one (1) vote (Grant), Supervisor LaFontain received six (6) votes (Bangs, Hammitt, Johnson, LaFontain, Meier, Schellinger), Supervisor Morris received one (1) vote (Morris), Supervisor Nelson received six (6) votes (Batzko, Gaughan, Heinrich, Howard, Nelson, Thieme), Supervisor Schellinger received seven (7) votes (Enriquez, Kolb, Michalski, Mommaerts, Walz, Weil, Wysocki).
- First Formal Vote: Supervisor LaFontain received six (6) votes (Bangs, Decker, Grant, Hammitt, LaFontain, Schellinger), Supervisor Nelson received eight (8) votes (Crowley, Enriquez, Gaughan, Heinrich, Howard, Michalski, Nelson, Thieme), Supervisor Schellinger received nine (9) votes (Batzko, Johnson, Kolb, Meier, Mommaerts, Morris, Walz, Weil, Wysocki).
- Second Formal Vote: Supervisor LaFontain received one (1) vote (Schellinger), Supervisor Nelson received eight (8) votes (Crowley, Decker, Enriquez, Gaughan, Heinrich, Howard, Nelson, Thieme), Supervisor Schellinger received fourteen (14) votes (Bangs, Batzko, Grant, Hammitt, Johnson, Kolb, LaFontain, Meier, Michalski, Mommaerts, Morris, Walz, Weil, Wysocki). Supervisor Schellinger received more than the twelve votes necessary to be elected to the At-Large position to the Executive Committee yet declined the nomination. The Board continued the process to select an At-Large Committee Member.

- Third Formal Vote: Supervisor Batzko received one (1) vote (Wysocki), Supervisor LaFontain received eleven (11) votes (Bangs, Decker, Grant, Hammitt, Johnson, Kolb, LaFontain, Meier, Mommaerts, Schellinger, Walz), Supervisor Nelson received eleven (11) votes (Batzko, Crowley, Enriquez, Gaughan Heinrich, Howard, Michalski, Morris, Nelson, Thieme, Weil).
- Fourth Formal Vote: Supervisor LaFontain received eleven (11) votes (Bangs, Grant, Hammitt, Johnson, Kolb, LaFontain, Meier, Mommaerts, Schellinger, Walz, Wysocki) and Supervisor Nelson received twelve (12) votes (Batzko, Crowley, Decker, Enriquez, Gaughan, Heinrich, Howard, Michalski, Morris, Nelson, Thieme, Weil). Supervisor Nelson, having attained twelve votes, was named to the Executive Committee.

At-Large Executive Committee Member: Supervisor LaFontain

o Informal Vote: Supervisor Crowley received two (2) votes (Batzko, Crowley), Supervisor Howard received one (1) vote (Wysocki), Supervisor Johnson received one (1) vote (Bangs), Supervisor LaFontain received thirteen (13) votes (Decker, Enriquez, Grant, Hammitt, Johnson, Kolb, LaFontain, Meier, Michalski, Mommaerts, Schellinger, Thieme, Weil), Supervisor Michalski received four (4) votes (Gaughan, Heinrich, Howard, Nelson), Supervisor Morris received one (1) vote (Morris), Supervisor Walz received one (1) vote (Walz). Supervisor LaFontain, having attained more than twelve votes, was named to the Executive Committee.

ADJOURN MEETING

Supervisor Howard moved to adjourn to 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, May 24, 2022, or at the call of the County Board Chair. Supervisor Gaughan seconded the motion. By voice vote the Board unanimously approved the motion to adjourn. The Board adjourned the meeting at 8:00 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Meg Wartman

Waukesha County Clerk

They Wartman