

PROCEEDINGS OF THE 1ST MEETING OF THE 175th YEAR OF THE WAUKESHA COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

Tuesday, April 21, 2020 - 7:00 p.m.

CONVENE MEETING

Supervisor Decker called the meeting to order and led the Board in the Pledge of Allegiance and a moment of silent prayer.

Roll Call:

County Clerk Meg Wartman took roll call. Twenty-five (25) Supervisors were present. Supervisor Cummings was present attending the meeting virtually from a Courthouse Conference Room.

The official list of Supervisors for the term of two years is as follows:

District 1	Tyler Foti	District 14	Chris Mommaerts
District 2	David D. Zimmermann	District 15	William A. Mitchell
District 3	Richard Morris	District 16	Michael Crowley
District 4	James Batzko	District 17	Duane E. Paulson
District 5	Tim Dondlinger	District 18	Larry Nelson
District 6	Jeremy Walz	District 19	Kathleen M. Cummings
District 7	Jennifer A. Grant	District 20	Thomas J. Schellinger
District 8	Thomas Michalski	District 21	Joel Gaughan
District 9	Jim A. Heinrich	District 22	Ted Wysocki
District 10	David W. Swan	District 23	Keith Hammitt
District 11	Christine Howard	District 24	Steven Whittow
District 12	Peter M. Wolff	District 25	Darlene M. Johnson
District 13	Paul L. Decker		

HONORABLE JENNIFER R. DOROW, CIRCUIT COURT CHIEF JUDGE, ADMINISTERED THE OATH OF OFFICE TO TWENTY-FIVE (25) SUPERVISORS.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS TO VACANCIES OF OFFICES OF THE WAUKESHA COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

COUNTY BOARD CHAIRPERSON

<u>Informal ballot</u>, twenty-five (25) votes were cast. Decker 23; Zimmermann 1 and Grant 1.

First formal ballot, twenty-five (25) votes were cast. Decker 24; Zimmermann 1.

County Clerk Wartman declared Supervisor Paul Decker received a majority of the votes cast. Supervisor Decker accepted the Chairperson position.

FIRST VICE-CHAIRPERSON

<u>Informal ballot</u> - twenty-five (25) votes were cast. Heinrich 20; Zimmermann 2; Swan 1; Paulson 1 and Grant 1.

First formal ballot - twenty-five (25) votes were cast. Heinrich 23; Zimmermann 1 and Swan 1.

County Clerk Wartman declared Supervisor Jim Heinrich received a majority of the votes. County Chairman Decker asked Supervisor Heinrich if he would accept the First Vice-Chairperson position. Supervisor Heinrich accepted.

SECOND VICE-CHAIRPERSON

<u>Informal ballot</u> - twenty-five (25) votes were cast. Swan 15; Zimmermann 6; Crowley 1; Mitchell 1; Schellinger 1; Grant 1.

First formal ballot - twenty-five (25) votes were cast. Swan 18; Zimmermann 6; Grant 1.

County Clerk Wartman declared Supervisor David Swan received a majority of the votes. County Chairman Decker asked Supervisor Swan if he would accept the Second Vice-Chairperson position. Supervisor Swan accepted.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE - 1ST POSITION

Informal ballot - twenty-five (25) votes were cast.

- Zimmerman (Paulson, Decker, Zimmermann, Heinrich, Mitchell, Batzko, Swan, Wolff, Schellinger, Foti)
- 3 Howard (Cummings, Howard, Mommaerts)
- 3 Nelson (Gaughan, Nelson, Michalski)
- 1 Dondlinger (Wysocki)
- 1 Crowley (Crowley)
- 7 Grant (Johnson, Walz, Dondlinger, Whittow, Hammitt, Morris, Grant)

First Formal ballot – twenty-five (25) votes were cast.

- Zimmermann (Heinrich, Swan, Paulson, Schellinger, Decker, Nelson, Mitchell, Gaughan, Batzko, Crowley, Zimmermann, Howard, Dondlinger, Foti, Wolff)
- 7 Grant (Cummings, Grant, Whittow, Walz, Morris, Hammitt, Johnson)
- 1 Howard (Mommaerts)
- 1 Nelson (Michalski)
- 1 Dondlinger (Wysocki)

County Clerk Wartman declared Supervisor Zimmermann received a majority of the votes. Chairman Decker asked Supervisor Zimmermann if he would accept the Executive Committee -1st Position. Supervisor Zimmermann accepted.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE - 2nd POSITION

<u>Informal ballot</u> - twenty-five (25) votes were cast.

- 9 Grant (Grant, Schellinger, Morris, Hammitt, Cummings, Johnson, Whittow, Walz, Swan)
- 6 Howard (Batzko, Zimmermann, Howard, Paulson, Wolff, Foti)
- 6 Nelson (Mommaerts, Michalski, Heinrich, Gaughan, Mitchell, Nelson)
- 2 Crowley (Crowley, Decker)
- 2 Dondlinger (Wysocki, Dondlinger)

First Formal ballot – twenty-five (25) votes were cast.

- 8 Grant (Morris, Cummings, Hammitt, Schellinger, Johnson, Grant, Walz, Whittow)
- 7 Howard (Swan, Howard, Batzko, Zimmermann, Wolff, Foti, Paulson)
- 7 Nelson (Crowley, Nelson, Mitchell, Gaughan, Michalski, Mommaerts, Heinrich)
- 2 Dondlinger (Wysocki, Dondlinger)
- 1 Crowley (Decker)

<u>Second Formal ballot</u> – twenty-five (25) votes were cast.

- 9 Grant (Grant, Schellinger, Crowley, Dondlinger, Johnson, Whittow, Hammitt, Morris, Walz)
- 8 Howard (Zimmermann, Howard, Foti, Wolff, Paulson, Cummings, Swan, Batzko)
- 6 Nelson (Heinrich, Michalski, Mommaerts, Nelson, Mitchell, Gaughan)
- 1 Dondlinger (Wysocki)
- 1 Wolff (Decker)

Third formal ballot – twenty-five (25) votes were cast.

- Grant (Mommaerts, Decker, Johnson, Crowley, Hammitt, Morris, Grant, Dondlinger, Cummings, Whittow, Schellinger, Walz)
- 10 Howard (Batzko, Michalski, Zimmermann, Howard, Swan, Nelson, Foti, Gaughan, Wolff, Paulson)
- 2 Nelson (Heinrich, Mitchell)
- 1 Dondlinger (Wysocki)

Fourth formal ballot – twenty-five (25) votes were cast.

- Grant (Johnson, Mommaerts, Dondlinger, Whittow, Walz, Mitchell, Crowley, Hammitt, Morris, Grant, Schellinger)
- Howard (Foti, Howard, Swan, Zimmermann, Gaughan, Batzko, Wolff, Paulson, Nelson, Cummings, Michalski)
- 1 Dondlinger (Decker)
- 1 Crowley (Wysocki)
- 1 Nelson (Heinrich)

Fifth formal ballot – twenty-five (25) votes were cast.

- Grant (Walz, Cummings, Grant, Whittow, Crowley, Schellinger, Mitchell, Morris, Hammitt, Dondlinger, Johnson and Mommaerts)
- Howard (Decker, Paulson, Foti, Wolff, Zimmermann, Michalski, Nelson, Swan, Howard, Gaughan, Batzko)
- 1 Dondlinger (Wysocki)
- 1 Nelson (Heinrich)

<u>Sixth formal ballot</u> – twenty-five (25) votes were cast.

- Grant (Whittow, Schellinger, Grant, Walz, Heinrich, Hammitt, Crowley, Morris, Dondlinger, Mommaerts, Decker, Mitchell, Johnson)
- Howard (Batzko, Swan, Cummings, Paulson, Michalski, Wolff, Foti, Gaughan, Zimmermann, Howard, Nelson)
- 1 Dondlinger (Wysocki)

County Clerk Wartman declared Supervisor Jennifer Grant received a majority of the votes. County Chairman Decker asked Supervisor Grant if she would accept the Executive Committee – 2nd Position. Supervisor Grant accepted.

SUMMARY OF ELECTIONS:

WAUKESHA COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS NEW OFFICERS – 175th YEAR

Paul DeckerChairpersonJames A. Heinrich1st Vice-ChairpersonDavid W. Swan2nd Vice-Chairperson

David D. Zimmermann

Jennifer Grant

Executive Committee 1st Position

Executive Committee 2nd Position

ADJOURN MEETING

Supervisor Wolff moved to adjourn to Tuesday, May 26, 2020, at 7:00 p.m. or at the call of the County Board Chair. Supervisor Zimmermann seconded the motion. The Board voted by voice vote unanimously approved the motion to adjourn. The Board adjourned at 8:10 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

They Wartman

Meg Wartman

Waukesha County Clerk