Minutes of the Executive Committee

Monday, June 15, 2020

Chair Decker called the meeting to order at 8:30 am.

Present: Supervisors Paul Decker, Jim Heinrich, Dave Swan, Tim Dondlinger, Jennifer Grant, and Dave Zimmermann. **Absent**: Peter Wolff

Also Present: Chief of Staff Sarah Spaeth, Attorney Mary Nelson, Human Resources Manager Renee Gage, Senior Human Resources Analyst Jane Barwick.

Future Agenda Items

• IT Update

Approve Minutes of May 18, 2020

MOTION: Heinrich moved, second by Dondlinger to approve the minutes of May 18. Motion carried 6-0.

Future Meeting Dates

- July 20, 2020
- August 17, 2020

Standing Committee Reports by Committee Chairs

Committee chairs gave reports on their respective committee meetings.

Presentation on County Board Survey Results and County Board Office Strategic Plan Environmental Scan

Spaeth distributed a handout titled County Board's Environmental Scan. Spaeth gave an overview of the strategic planning process which includes an environmental scan as its first step in the process. Spaeth discussed County Board size and pay, redistricting, County Board survey results, customer service, and the office's staffing history.

Discuss and Consider the Following Appointments: Appointment 175-A-003 Michael S. Goldstone to the Health and Human Services Board; Appointment 175-A-004 Martha Ryan to the Waukesha Public Library Board of Trustees; Appointment 175-A-005 Barbara (Bobbi) Woppert to the Big Bend Public Library Board of Trustees; Appointment 175-A-006 Myra Huth to the Delafield Public Library Board of Trustees; Appointment 175-A-007 Tricia Madden to the Delafield Public Library Board of Trustees; Appointment 175-A-008 Bob Mitchell to the Delafield Public Library Board of Trustees; Appointment 175-A-019 Brianna Rasmussen to the Hartland Public Library Board of Trustees; Appointment 175-A-011 Michele Oberwise-Lacock to the Mukwonago Community Library Board of Trustees; Appointment 175-A-012 Howard Pringle to the Mukwonago Community Library Board of Trustees; Appointment 175-A-013 Carol Stienstra to the Mukwonago Community Library Board of Trustees; Appointment 175-A-014 Donna Whalen to the Mukwonago Community Library

Board of Trustees; Appointment 175-A-015 Diane Knutson to the Oconomowoc Public Library Board of Trustees; Appointment 175-A-016 Kristin Nelson to the Oconomowoc Public Library Board of Trustees; Appointment 175-A-017 Juli Hacker to the Pauline Haas Public Library Board of Trustees; Appointment 175-A-018 Alicia Jilling to the Pauline Haas Public Library Board of Trustees; Appointment 175-A-019 Christopher Koenig to the Pauline Haas Public Library Board of Trustees; Appointment 175-A-020 Julie Kucharski to the Pauline Haas Public Library Board of Trustees; and Appointment 175-A-021 Melissa Baxter to the Pauline Haas Public Library Board of Trustees

MOTION: Swan moved, second by Heinrich approve the above-listed appointments en masse. Motion carried 6-0.

The Executive Committee will conduct the Step 5 Employee Grievance Appeal – Administrative Review of Impartial Hearing Officer decision pursuant to Waukesha County Code Section 7-110 regarding the employment of Kim Ho

Closed Session

MOTION: Heinrich moved, second by Grant to go into closed session at 9:13 a.m. pursuant to Section 19.85(1)(b) and (f), Wisconsin Statutes, for the purpose of considering the dismissal, demotion, licensing or discipline of Kim Ho, and pursuant to Section 19.85(1)(a), Wisconsin Statutes, for the purpose of deliberating concerning the Step 5 Employee Grievance Appeal of Kim Ho which is the subject of a judicial or quasi-judicial hearing before the Committee. Motion carried 6-0.

The committee returned to open session at 9:45 a.m.

Action regarding the Step 5 Employee Grievance Appeal of Kim Ho

MOTION: Zimmermann moved, second by Dondlinger to uphold the impartial hearing officer's decision. Motion carried 6-0.

State Legislative Update

Spaeth said the Governor announced \$200 million in CARES Act funds will be made available to local governments as grants to reimburse their unbudgeted expenditures incurred from COVID-19. Waukesha County is eligible to receive \$6.6 million.

MOTION: Heinrich moved, second by Dondlinger to adjourn at 9:53 a.m. Motion carried 6-0.

Respectfully submitted,

Peter M. Wolff

Peter M. Wolff Secretary