

WAUKESHA COUNTY BOARD MINUTES

5th Meeting, 177th Year of the Waukesha County Board of Supervisors
Tuesday, August 23, 2022 – 7:00 p.m.
Waukesha County Courthouse – Room 350

CONVENE MEETING

Call to Order: Chairman Decker called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and led the Board in the Pledge of Allegiance and a moment of silent prayer remembering the service of County Supervisor Ted Wysocki, Supervisory District 22, who passed away on August 4, 2022.

Roll Call: Supervisors Foti, Weil, Morris, Batzko, Grant, Walz, LaFontain, Michalski, Thieme, Howard, Wolff, Decker, Mommaerts, Kolb, Crowley, Meier, Nelson, Enriquez, Schellinger, Gaughan, Hammitt, Bangs, and Johnson were present. Supervisor Heinrich was absent. Supervisory District 22 seat was vacant.

County Clerk Correspondence & Announcements: County Clerk Wartman announced that County Executive Farrow signed all actions from July 26, 2022 Board meeting and that four claims had been filed since the July 26, 2022 Board meeting.

Approval of the minutes: Supervisor Hammitt moved to approve the minutes from the July 26, 2022, Board meeting. Supervisor Kolb seconded the motion. The Board was polled and the motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Announcements of Votes Needed: Chairman Decker announced that Ordinance 177-O-049 required sixteen (16) votes and that all other actions required a simple majority.

STANDING COMMITTEE PRESENTATIONS OF ORDINANCES, RESOLUTIONS & MOTIONS

Land Use, Parks & Environment Committee

Ordinance 177-O-044: Amend The Waukesha County Shoreland And Floodland Protection Ordinance District Zoning Map Of The Town Of Delafield By Conditionally Rezoning Certain Lands Located In Part Of The SW ¼ Of Section 25, T7N, R18E, Town Of Delafield, Waukesha County, Wisconsin, From The C-1 Conservancy Overlay District To The A-2 Rural Home District

Supervisory Michalski moved to approve Ordinance 177-O-044: Amend The Waukesha County Shoreland And Floodland Protection Ordinance District Zoning Map Of The Town Of Delafield By Conditionally Rezoning Certain Lands Located In Part Of The SW ¼ Of Section 25, T7N, R18E, Town Of Delafield, Waukesha County, Wisconsin, From The C-1 Conservancy Overlay District To The A-2 Rural Home District. Supervisor Morris seconded the motion. The Board was polled and twenty-three (23) votes were cast 'aye' (Supervisors Foti, Weil, Morris, Batzko, Grant, Walz, LaFontain, Michalski, Thieme, Howard, Wolff, Decker, Mommaerts, Kolb, Crowley, Meier, Nelson, Enriquez, Schellinger, Gaughan, Hammitt, Bangs, and Johnson). The Ordinance passed unanimously.

Ordinance 177-O-045: Amend The Waukesha County Shoreland And Floodland Protection Ordinance District Zoning Map Of The Town Of Delafield By Establishing Shoreland Zoning For 19 Properties Located In The SE ¼ And SW ¼ Of The SW ¼ Of Section 25 And The NE ¼ And NW ¼ Of The NW ¼ Of Section 36, T7N, R18E, Town Of Delafield, Waukesha County, Wisconsin

Supervisor Michalski moved to approve Ordinance 177-O-045: Amend The Waukesha County Shoreland And Floodland Protection Ordinance District Zoning Map Of The Town Of Delafield By Establishing Shoreland Zoning For 19 Properties Located In The SE ¼ And SW ¼ Of The SW ¼ Of Section 25 And The NE ¼ And NW ¼ Of The NW ¼ Of Section 36, T7N, R18E, Town Of Delafield, Waukesha County, Wisconsin. Supervisor Howard seconded the motion. The Board was polled and twenty-three (23) votes were cast 'aye' (Supervisors Foti, Weil, Morris, Batzko, Grant, Walz, LaFontain, Michalski, Thieme, Howard, Wolff, Decker, Mommaerts, Kolb, Crowley, Meier, Nelson, Enriquez, Schellinger, Gaughan, Hammitt, Bangs, and Johnson). The Ordinance passed unanimously.

Executive Committee

Resolution 177-R-003: Resolution To Conduct Advisory Referenda On Uniformity In Election Laws And Administration Throughout The State Of Wisconsin

Supervisor Hammitt moved to approve Resolution 177-R-003: Resolution To Conduct Advisory Referenda On Uniformity In Election Laws And Administration Throughout The State Of Wisconsin. Supervisor Wolff seconded the motion. The Board was polled and twenty-one (21) votes were cast 'aye' (Supervisors Foti, Weil, Morris, Batzko, Grant, Walz, LaFontain, Michalski, Thieme, Howard, Wolff, Decker, Mommaerts, Kolb, Crowley, Meier, Enriquez, Schellinger, Hammitt, Bangs, and Johnson) and two (2) votes were cast 'nay' (Supervisors Nelson and Gaughan). The Resolution passed 21-2.

Appointment 177-A-021: John Corning to the Ashippun Lake Management District

Supervisor Hammitt moved to confirm Appointment 177-A-013. Supervisor Mommaerts seconded the motion. The Board was polled and twenty-three (23) votes were cast 'aye' (Supervisors Foti, Weil, Morris, Batzko, Grant, Walz, LaFontain, Michalski, Thieme, Howard, Wolff, Decker, Mommaerts, Kolb, Crowley, Meier, Nelson, Enriquez, Schellinger, Gaughan, Hammitt, Bangs, and Johnson). The Appointment was confirmed unanimously.

Judiciary & Law Enforcement Committee

Ordinance 177-O-049: Modify The 2022 District Attorney's Office Budget To Accept Antiterrorism And Emergency Assistance Program (AEAP) Grant To Fund Victim Services Related To The 2021 Waukesha Parade Incident

Supervisor LaFontain moved to approve Ordinance 177-O-049: Modify The 2022 District Attorney's Office Budget To Accept Antiterrorism And Emergency Assistance Program (AEAP) Grant To Fund Victim Services Related To The 2021 Waukesha Parade Incident. Supervisor Weil seconded the motion. The Board was polled and twenty-three (23) votes were cast 'aye' (Supervisors Foti, Weil, Morris, Batzko, Grant, Walz, LaFontain, Michalski, Thieme, Howard, Wolff, Decker, Mommaerts, Kolb, Crowley, Meier, Nelson, Enriquez, Schellinger, Gaughan, Hammitt, Bangs, and Johnson). The motion passed unanimously.

<u>Ordinance 177-O-050: Modify The Salary Range Assignment For Telecommunicator Classification</u> From Open Range 06 To Open Range 07

Supervisor LaFontain moved to approve Ordinance 177-O-050: Modify The Salary Range Assignment For Telecommunicator Classification From Open Range 06 To Open Range 07. Supervisor Crowley seconded the motion. The Board was polled and twenty-three (23) votes were cast 'aye' (Supervisors Foti, Weil, Morris, Batzko, Grant, Walz, LaFontain, Michalski, Thieme, Howard, Wolff, Decker, Mommaerts, Kolb, Crowley, Meier, Nelson, Enriquez, Schellinger, Gaughan, Hammitt, Bangs, and Johnson). The motion passed unanimously.

ADJOURN MEETING

Supervisor Wolff moved to adjourn to 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, September 27, 2022 or at the call of the County Board Chair. Supervisor Hammitt seconded the motion. By voice vote the Board unanimously approved the motion to adjourn. The Board adjourned the meeting at 7:20 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Meg Wartman

Waukesha County Clerk

Meg Wartman